She Says… BINGO

Predicting ovulation is kind of like playing bingo. Every morning you test, anxiously awaiting to see what “number” pops out. And one day, all the numbers line up just so, and you are called to action (in one case yelling “BINGO!”, and in the other, hopping in the sack). Just because you jump up from your chair and scream “BINGO!”, however, it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be the winner. After all, someone else could have Bingo too, and then you have to split the prize (man, I’m glad that doesn’t happen with babies!), or you may have thought you heard them call B7, when really they called B11. Do ya catch my drift?

Ok, the analogy is a bit of a stretch. But what I’m trying to say is that I’m doing my best to keep my cool this week, and realize that even if I don’t ovulate this first cycle on Clomid, it’s not the end of the world. And, similarly, if I do ovulate, but my eggo doesn’t get preggo, it’s all going to be ok. Right? Right.

That said, I started using the ovulation predictor kit (OPK) this morning. Exciting! It’s a lot like taking a home pregnancy test. And, since I thought I was pregnant multiple times in the first few months off of birth control (way back when I thought that the only reason one would not have a period was because she was pregnant), I’m pretty good at taking home pregnancy tests. Damn right. So this is old hat to me.

DSC01987

That’s right, CVS brand. Nothing but the best. The nurse at Dr. P’s office recommended ClearBlue Easy, but this one was $3 cheaper and it said, “Compare to ClearBlue Easy” on the front. Good enough for me! First you read the ridiculously long directions. In three languages. And check out the funny cartoon of a woman peeing on a stick.

DSC01988

My doctor’s directions differed somewhat from the directions on the box. The box says to perform the test around the same time every day, at some point between 10:00am and 8:00pm. You’re supposed to reduce your liquid intake and not pee for 4 hours before taking the test. 4 hours?! Anyone who knows me well will attest to the fact that I have the tiniest bladder in the world. There is NO WAY I could go 4 hours without peeing. Thankfully, my doctor said to test at my second pee of the day. That’s generally right before I run out the door to work at 7:00am. You’re supposed to hold the little stick under your urine stream for 5 seconds, or pee in a cup and dip the stick for 10 seconds, then let it sit on the counter for ten minutes. That throws off my morning schedule a little bit, but it’s a small price to pay 🙂

negOPK

I dipped the stick; it seemed like the more foolproof way to make sure the dipstick got enough urine to sample. Today’s result: Negative. The band in the square window is supposed to match the band in the round window. If it does, it’s a positive, and I am (in theory) about to ovulate in the next 12-24 hours. Today the band was very pale, so no call to action yet. We’ll try again tomorrow!

17 responses to “She Says… BINGO

  1. What are you going to do with the $3 you saved? I think that should be the topic of your next post. John would appreciate your savings.

    Keep “us” posted!!

  2. Your description of this made me laugh. Good job on saving some money. I hope you get a positive sign for ovulation soon 🙂

    lowfatlady.wordpress.com

  3. I hope the tests come in 3 packs like HPTs do!

  4. I am now picturing your eggs rolling around in a bingo cage!

  5. Cute post..I like a sense of humor especially when it comes to infertility crap. I hope you get your positive and Clomid works for you. GL!!

  6. Just found your blog from A+B…I am nearing the end of my first Clomid cycle, but I never got the double line on the tests…I wish you much better luck! Can’t wait to read about your success!

  7. just realized you commented on my blog….THNAKS!

  8. Those darn ovulation predictor kits drove me crazy. I could never be sure if the line was getting in darker! There’s a digital one, too, but it’s more expensive. But it definitely worked better for me!

  9. I had no idea those tests were so complicated! I’m glad you were able to figure it out. 🙂 Almost as glad as I am that you don’t have to hold it for four hours! Talk about impossible!

  10. Erin, Ha! Ummm, buy myself a (decaf) Starbucks? Oh no, wait… I’ll probably need that money to buy another kit next month. Damn.

    Low Fat Lady, Thanks! Me too!

    thebakerbee, They come in packs of 7, so you can test for one week. But seriously, why are they so expensive? I wonder if one can buy them in bulk? Here’s hoping I won’t need to restock…

    Lisa, Yes, the analogy falls apart at some level. Ha!

    Jessica, Thank you! Yes, having a sense of humor makes this all bearable. I’m glad you all can laugh with me 🙂

    Baby Hungry, Sorry the first Clomid cycle didn’t do it for you. Good luck on the next one!

    iamstacey, I know, I can see myself agonizing over it in the future. It’s all so… subjective. Give me a “yes” or a “no”, ya know? The nurse at Dr. P’s office said to me, “Some women stress about if the line is dark enough, or if it matches perfectly… but the reality is that if you have to look THAT hard at it, stop analyzing it and get in bed with your husband!”. Those digital ones are out of my price range for right now… but I might be singing another tune if I can’t get a positive on the CVS brand.

    Tabitha, They are complicated, and also totally amazing! I don’t know how they do what they do. But I sure am glad they exist. And amen to the comment about holding it for 4 hours! Ummm, not gonna happen.

  11. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s so comforting to know other women going through the same thing. It seems as though you’re about a week ahead of me, so I will be reading often!
    As for the OPKs, I have no patience and have found that the extra $ is worth it for the simple “yes” or “no” answer.

  12. Every time you post, I eagerly scroll down waiting for the words “I’m Pregnant!!” Soon, Kate, soon!

  13. AplusB, I may try those digital ones soon — although unfortunately the tests seem pretty clear, they are just not giving me the answer that I want!

    Allie, Thank you! Man, I can’t WAIT to write that post 🙂

  14. I am all about CVS OPK’s….So , just to throw it out there…I was so crazy my 2nd round that I would do it first thing the am and if it was kinda getting darker than the day before (and you know I kept the OPK from the day before to compare it to) I would wait the 4 hours and test at work (in the bathroom stall and all – telling my assistant that I was going to POAS) between 11-12…crazy, I know, but it worked. I realize now that it was crazy but in a comforting way, it kept me sane. And I can laugh about it now 🙂
    Hoping for the darkest pink like EVER!

  15. Joanna, Ha! That is hilarious. I have been so tempted to do the same thing. Congrats that it worked for you!

  16. Kate, I am a new reader to your blog and keep coming back for the dose of honesty. I just recommended you to a friend who does not ovulate, sharing your story will really help other women, especially when the end result is positive, proof that good things do come in time.

  17. Thank you so much for your comment! I am so glad you recommended our blog to a friend. It really sucks going through some of this stuff when you think you are the only one.

    And we try to keep it real 🙂

    Come back again soon! Kate

Leave a Reply

