She Says… Yoga = Pregnant?

Quick little update: I went to my first “real” yoga class on Tuesday night (in place of the cardio kickboxing class that I normally do on Tuesday nights!). I’m trying out this cute little studio just a few blocks from my house. Couldn’t be more convenient; I like the idea of strolling down the street, yoga mat in hand.

First thought: It’s hot in here. The room is kept at 80 degrees, and it was a relatively humid day. At first it felt slimy and gross, and then I succumbed to being sweaty and it felt lovely. I was all noodley by the end of class.

Second thought: Man, there are A LOT of pregnant women here! Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many pregnant people in one place at one time. And no, it wasn’t a prenatal yoga class 🙂 

So, I’ m unsure about the causality, but I’m pretty certain there’s a correlation.

Pregnant people do a lot of yoga.
A lot of people who do yoga are pregnant.
Ergo, yoga = pregnant?

Yeah, yeah, the logic’s not quite there. But maybe some of the baby love in the yoga studio will rub off on me?

4 responses to “She Says… Yoga = Pregnant?

  1. i took a yoga class this morning too! it was mostly oldsters….yoga will definitely help you get in touch with your body and relieve stress….good luck!

  2. The midwives in the practice I go to are all but writing it on a prescription pad for my lower back pain. I am sooooo not bendy. Even when I was athletic, fit, and the perfect weight in my younger years, I still could not touch my toes. I tried some of the more advanced yoga poses on Wii Fit once and the next day ended up with the worst bout of vertigo I’ve ever had. I hope that was just a coincidence.

    Is it really that magical?

  3. Lynn, I agree, yoga certainly does help you relax and relieve stress. It makes me nervous to have it be my only exercise (aka replacing hard core cardio), but so far it is lovely!

    Sam, Well, I’m crossing my fingers for it to be magical for me, if ya know what I mean 🙂 In all seriousness, the class was pretty awesome. I felt strong, flexible and relaxed, and a part of something much larger than myself. The sound of others breathing around you, the relaxing music, and the instructor’s low, rhythmic voice… I guess it is kind of magical. I’m going to do again this weekend and maybe even try the Intermediate class; we’ll see how that goes!

  4. Hmmm, I’m thinking about taking up yoga!

Leave a Reply

