She Says… Nothing’s Happening

Well, here we are again in familiar territory. The excitement of having a Provera-induced “period” (aka withdrawal bleeding) 2 1/2 weeks ago has worn off, and I’m back to waiting not-so-patiently for something else to happen. If the week of ingesting little progesterone pills had magically put me back on a normal schedule, I should have ovulated last week. But, since I am obsessed, I’ve been charting my temps (a la Taking Charge of Your Fertility) and have not seen a thermal shift (or even a thermal pattern, for that  matter). So I’m fairly certain that ovulation has not happened — yet.

Since I was away from my darling husband in Vermont last week, it wasn’t great timing for the most important element of babymaking. Nevertheless, I’d really like to sleep soundly knowing that my body is cycling the way it needs to so that SOMEDAY we can time things correctly and procreate. But alas, it sounds like my body has other plans. And although I am generally a supporter of letting nature run its course, I’m getting a little frustrated by the lack of progress.

Last night Benjamin said to me, “I want you to get preggers so we can tell our friends and family about the blog”. You bet your sweet ass bottom dollar that’s not the only reason we want to get pregnant. Now that we’ve done so much talking and planning and hoping and trying, we want to get this little adventure started ASAP. We’re ready, ok? Bring on the baby! Or at least the normal periods so we can start “trying” like everyone else. Is that too much to ask?

Three more weeks to wait until I can call the doctor again. She said if I don’t get my period by then, we can discuss “other options” and “next steps”. The date is already marked on the calendar and the countdown has begun…

7 responses to “She Says… Nothing’s Happening

  1. I’m sorry to hear you are still having troubles. You know…back before I was “active” I always hated getting my period. Now that I “am” and am not yet trying to have a baby, I breathe a huuuge sigh of relief when I get it. I’m sure you’ll be breathing a sigh of relief when it finally comes back…and equally relieved when it finally leaves for the right reasons 🙂

  2. “Taking Charge of Your Fertility” – I love that book! Good luck and RELAX!!

  3. Jill, I know, it does seem a bit backwards that we spend our lives trying NOT to get pregnant, and then all of a sudden we want (and expect) TO get pregnant! I’ve been as normal as clockwork for the last decade while on birth control, so it seems almost laughable that now I can’t get my period even when I try.

    Lynn, Ha! I will try 🙂

  4. I hope that you are able to get your period. I finally went to see my reproductive endo and now I am scheduled for a bunch of tests. I need to have a sono and a hsg. Once those are clear he will probably start me on clomid.

  5. I haven’t seen a new post in a while. Hope all is well! How’s the garden?

  6. Amy, Good luck to you! Keep me posted on how everything works out for you. It’s a rocky road, eh?

    Sam, Thanks for checking in! No good news yet 🙂 The poor garden is drowning with all the rain we’ve had recently, but seems to be growing just fine. If I could just keep the squirrels away, I might actually get to taste some of the fruits (veggies) of my labor!

  7. Will do 🙂 It’s nice to find someone who is sorta on the same path. Btw – I started a food type journal on wordpress hence the slight name change.

Leave a Reply

