She Says… Cautiously Optimistic

Yesterday I found out that a very close friend is preggers. With her second. I knew that she and her husband were trying  for another little one (and she’s one of the only people who knows that WE are trying), so it was not a surprise. Still, I expected to feel a little bit of competitiveness or anger or frustration when I heard that she was already on her way to #2 when I can’t even get to #1. However, when she told me, all I felt was joy! Now I realize just how amazing it is when someone gets pregnant.

Reading Taking Charge of Your Fertility has really helped me feel optimistic about my fertility and the chance that we will conceive normally, naturally, and soon. From what I can tell, my current state of anovulation is a perfectly normal reaction to stopping birth control. It takes many women time to regulate their hormone production. Judging by some of the “symptoms” discussed in the book, I believe I am still experiencing normal hormonal cycles, but my estrogen levels just have not reached the threshold that signals my body to have a period.

So… although I do not have a formal update (I’m calling my gynecologist to make an appointment in 2 weeks), I’m cautiously optimistic that everything is fine, I am perfectly normal, and there’s nothing I can do but wait this out. In the meantime, though, to gain a bit of control and set my mind on something else, I am going to start charting my temperature and following the guidelines in TCOYF.

I’d love to hear from anyone who has any experience/advice on temp charting!

7 responses to “She Says… Cautiously Optimistic

  1. I don’t have a lot of experience with that because I stopped doing it after a couple of months. I’m thinking I need to start again though, because the last two months my cycle has been all over the place. Which is especially frustrating given that the five months before that it was on schedule. oh – and congrats to your friend!

  2. I ovulated later than the norm, so charting temperature was helpful when trying to time relations. Keep the thermometer on your nightstand and take your temp at the same time every morning before you get out of bed. Keep your alarm set on weekends and just pop the therm in your mouth before you clobber the clock. Most digital thermometers will store a few previous temps, so don’t worry about writing it down until you wake up and can see again.

    Good luck. I’m so glad you are still in high spirits. It can be frustrating.

  3. I’ve been charting since I went off the pill about a month ago, and I’m so glad I started right away. I know that I ovulated pretty much when I should have, but I would have had no idea about that otherwise! I can definitely see how people could become obsessive about it though, reading into every little sign. I’m trying to keep myself in check. 🙂

  4. Congratulations to your friend!

    I know what you mean about the emotions involved. We were told that we wouldn’t be able to conceive naturally, so I always thought that when I wanted a child of my own I would feel resentful of others who could conceive and did conceive.

    In the end, it turned out that I was always happy for them, blissfully and unabashedly happy.

    And then, surprise of lucky surprises, I conceived naturally. So don’t give up hope, because if a “can-never-conceive” like me can get pregnant? Well, anything’s possible.

    Good luck! I hope to read some AWESOME news soon!

  5. Tabitha, I can see how it would be easy to lose interest in it after a few months. Even after a few days I feel like there’s no rhyme or reason to the numbers I’m writing down. Although, as the book says, it takes time to see the forest through the trees!

    Sam, Thank you so much for the tips! That is wonderful that charting helped you get your timing right.

    Sue, I know, it is crazy to read into every little temp change and “symptom”… exhausting and totally unnecessary, because you’re either pregnant or not whether or not you’ve stressed over it! That’s what I keep telling myself anyway.

    Sarah, That is AWESOME to hear!!! Congrats, and thank you.

  6. First, good luck with everything! I know this cannot be easy! Your posts always seem very positive though 🙂

  7. Jill, Thank you! It is a bit frustrating, but I’m not really letting myself get overwhelmed with despair. I am young and healthy and there are so many options out there, I’m bound to be able to build a family one way or another.

Leave a Reply

