Daily Archives: March 16, 2009

She Says… Losing weight to gain weight

Over the past 6 months, I have gone from a size 8 to a size 2. Although I was not overly heavy to begin with, I had a few pounds I could stand to lose. So I upped my gym time and began to reduce the amount of processed food I put into my mouth. Nothing drastic, just a shift in my food philosophy (thanks in part to reading Michael Pollan’s “In Defense of Food”). I think that the consistent schedule of strength training and cardio has had more of an impact on my body composition than my diet, since I ate pretty healthily before; but I have made a conscious effort to eat appropriate portions of whole foods (not “food like substances” like health bars, enriched cereals and fat-free/sugar-free sweets) and very little meat.

While my weight loss has been a happy result of these decisions, the real impetus behind them was preparing myself for being pregnant. To many, that sounds contradictory. Why lose weight just to gain it all back (and then some!)? Won’t I be disappointed when my hard work to drop the pounds is negated by a growing belly?

Nope, not at all. My little secret is that losing the weight to gain it all back was my plan all along. I haven’t lost this weight for my own satisfaction. I haven’t even lost it to look better in a bikini or to squeeze into smaller jeans (although that does feel pretty good!). I did it all for the future tenant of my tummy. I want to be in tip top shape when that little guy/gal shows up. And, frankly, this exercise in mindful eating has both improved my overall health and proven to me that I am capable of losing the weight again when I need want to.