She Says… TTC, on CD17, onto the 2WW

Who knew I would learn a foreign language through this process? As a result of my fanatical Googling habit (I swear, sometimes my fingers have minds of their own), I have come across countless chat boards and online communities for women who are trying to conceive (TTC). The women on these boards use the most amazing amount of acronyms, some of which I would never guess in a million years. The interesting thing is, I’ve never seen anyone post asking what the acronyms mean… does that mean that when you get to this stage in your life you are all of a sudden fluent in this crazy language? Not so in my case, but I found a handy dandy dictionary to help me decipher the code.

For those of you too lazy to click on the link above (or uninterested because you are not TTC), I will highlight a few of my faves. Seriously, do all of these things need abbreviations?

BD: Baby dance (aka SEX)
DTD: Doing the dance
BMS: Baby-making sex
POAS: Pee on a stick

BFN and BFP: Big fat negative and big fat positive

… and my #1 favorite: FTTA (fertile thoughts to all). Ummm, really?! Fertile thoughts to ALL?! I bet there are plenty of people out there who neither want nor need fertile thoughts. And others who would probably prefer a fertile uterus to fertile thoughts. But whatevs. Obvi, I don’t know the first thing about abbreviations.

But seriously, I am TTC, on CD17 and currently in the 2WW.

4 responses to “She Says… TTC, on CD17, onto the 2WW

  1. Very best of luck TTC hun! If you want to chat more about it there is a great TTC forum here http://my.bounty.com/forums/Subject/149/1/1/Trying-to-conceive.htm to share your experiences with the ladies and get lots of support and advice. Keep on blogging, looking forward to following your journey, baby dust for you xxxx

  2. Thank you, Bounty2009! I’ll definitely check out your site.

  3. Thank you so much for posting this lol. I too have read a bunch of these sites and I got lost in the abbreviations. I’m glad I’m not the only who was lost 🙂

  4. Amy, Ha! Happy to help. They do get a little silly…

Leave a Reply

