Daily Archives: March 4, 2009

She Says… To be or not to be… surprised!

I have been looking forward to telling friends and family that I am pregnant almost as much as finding out myself. For years, as I’ve heard others pop the exciting news, I have fantasized about how I will share my little surprise. It gets me all giddy inside to think that, at least for a little while, I will be the only one who knows. I will even know before the hubs! I can’t imagine I’m going to be able to keep the news in for very long, though, once that time comes. People always say you’re “supposed” to wait until a certain number of weeks before sharing the news, in case of a miscarriage or other complication, but I’m just not sure I’m going to be able to wait! Better start thinking of creative ways to share the happy news now…

When you tell someone you’re pregnant, you expect their reaction to be SURPRISED (at least I do). And thrilled, of course. But for some reason I have always wished for complete surprise. Maybe it’s the ubiquitous made-for-tv movie scenes of happy women gushing the news to their parents and everyone crying in excitement. Or maybe it’s the feeling that, despite modern scientific advances, getting pregnant is still something we can’t totally control (except for creepy cloned babies). It’s a surprise whenever it happens.

However, recently I feel like everyone in my life is expecting me to get pregnant. When I don’t order a drink while out to dinner or mention that I don’t feel well, friends immediately joke, “Are you pregnant?”. I’ve been married for 3 years, I just finished a masters degree program, and I’m pretty verbal about how much I want a family someday soon, so I’m not exactly sure why this bothers me… I guess I just want so badly for it to be a surprise when I tell them I actually am.