She Says… On to Next Year

Phew, friends. This has been a busy illness-ridden and family-filled holiday week. For many of you, too, I’m sure. If you missed our annual holiday video I posted earlier this week, you can watch it here!

video1

After I posted the video, I got a lot of questions like “How did you get Owen to do that?” or “How long did that take?” or “How do you get it to look so good?”. My response to the last question is that it doesn’t hurt to be married to a professional videographer! Benjamin and I love working on this project together every year, and he even sends it out to clients as a holiday greeting, so yes, we go a bit “over the top”.

video2

As for the first question, I gotta say, despite shooting the day between Owen’s stomach bug and respiratory illness, he was a total star. We always knew he had a flare for the dramatic, but he went far above and beyond our expectations this year. In preparation, we talked a lot about what each scene would entail and made “rehearsing” into a game. He didn’t really care for rehearsing at all, but when those cameras switched on, he did exactly what we asked… and more. So the answer to “how did we get him to do that” is mostly that he is a natural in front of the camera (though I like to say it’s because of my mad directing skillz).

video5

video4

Well. Yeah. That and the promise of M&Ms. At first I hesitated to turn this into a bribery situation, but after a few takes, Benjamin gave me that look that I know from experience means, “Kate, you’re nuts. Just give him a freaking M&M.”. He was so right. We were asking a lot of Owen, and he was easily satisfied with one M&M per request from us. As I said before, they are powerful motivators in our house!

video3

For those who’d like to see a more behind-the-scenes look, we put together a quick collection of the funniest outtakes from our day of shooting.

This year’s video is such a gem that we’re already thinking about how to top it next year.

Thankfully we have a secret weapon in the works.

WE ARE GOING TO HAVE A NEW CAST MEMBER!

Wanna see?

Ultrasound-2

Ultrasound-1

Uh huh. I’m 11.5 weeks (and counting somewhat nervously until I get past the point where I miscarried back in July) and due July 16th, a week prior to Owen’s 3rd birthday. I’ve been totally rocked by exhaustion, hence the sporadic blog posts, but aside from feeling particularly emotional (have you noticed how many times I’ve mentioned sentimental crying over the last 9 weeks, even though I’m generally not a crier?), I have felt pretty great.

We feel so, so fortunate that I got pregnant again so quickly and naturally.

This was a very merry Christmas for us indeed!

55 responses to “She Says… On to Next Year

  1. I usually don’t comment. But I’ve been hoping to see you post this very thing! Congratulations! It makes me hopeful. My own kid is one year younger than Owen and I just had a miscarriage/ectopic pregnancy. So your posts hit home.

  2. Congrats times a million. A Merry Christmas, indeed!

  3. So happy for you! Can’t wait to see the new bundle of joy!

  4. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!! Kate! Congratulations!! So so very happy for you. Onto 2013! :) (those outtakes were amazing!)

  5. Congratulations!!! And very cute video :)

  6. SO happy for you guys! Love from Wilmington NC.

  7. So excited for you all!

  8. CONGRATULATIONS! This post made me so so happy. Lots of love to your beautiful (and expanding) family. xoxo

  9. So very very happy for you!! Incredibly exciting! Have a 7 week old and already broody for the next! Enjoy your last festive period as a threesome! Can’t wait to hear updates on the new cast member! Xxxx

  10. Congratulations!!!

  11. Oh wow! That last comment blowed me away! I’m so happy for you all.
    2013 will be your year of joy and happiness. I’ll pray for it!

  12. YAY! So happy for you, hunny!

  13. What a great video – and congratulations on your pregnancy! I’m not sure that I ever commented here but I found your blog this summer while TTC our first. Now at 23 weeks, I still go back to read your old pregnancy posts and am thrilled to hear about #2. Can’t wait to hear more about the journey!

  14. I knew your dinnertime confessions post was foreshadowing!!!! When you said “I hope this is the beginning of many, many family dinners where my kids tell me everything on their minds”

    Congratulations!!! Can’t wait to read further on the new little one!! Have you told Owen yet?? If so, how did he respond?? What a blessing!

  15. Awesome! I’ve been waiting for this post! Congratulations to all of you! :)

  16. AHHH!!! I’m so excited for your new addition next year!! EEK!!!!

  17. Congratulations!!!

  18. Congratulations Kate! Praying that all goes well for you! I absolutely love all of your Christmas videos and have made my boyfriend watch each of them.

  19. WOOOO HOOOOO!!!!! Congratulations!!! I am so excited for you guys! That is wonderful news!! YIPPIE!!

  20. At the risk of sounding like the “token jew” reader.. Mazel Tov!!! :-) My little one is 10 months old and we had someone buy her a “big sister” shirt. Yeah, NOT happening for at least a couple years, I think three years apart is perfect! Congrats to you and your whole (growing) family! :-)

  21. Congratulations!! :D Funny… I thought the same thing when I read that dinner conversation post…

  22. Congratulations! So happy to hear about your pregnancy. Your miscarriage posts brought me to tears, I was so appreciative that you shared the experience. I am pregnant with my 2nd, due July 12th, so I’m looking forward to reading all of your pregnancy and new baby posts!

  23. Ahhh!!! Hooray! I am so excited for you all and cannot wait to see how 2013 progresses for you and the growing family. CONGRATS! And lots of healthy preggo vibes are coming your way…

  24. CONGRATS!!!! I was happily reading all about Owen’s adorableness as a child movie star and then you dropped the news! I let out an audible gasp…in public. Oh I’m so happy for you, Ben and Owen. Weeee!

  25. Congrats!!! That is such excellent news! 2013 is going to be a great year. Wishing you all the best.

  26. Amazing surprise at the end of this post, and something we have all been hoping for! Happy and very healthy 2013!

  27. Congratulations! So happy for you!

  28. Oh WOW, that’s WONDERFUL NEWS!!!!!! Big congratulations you guys!!!!

  29. Yay! Congratulations! I’m so excited for you. You’re due 2 weeks before me.

  30. Just got the chills and teared up reading your post! Soooo so happy for you three! Thanks for sharing.

  31. Congrats!!! So excited for you guys! :)

  32. So, so happy for your addition! I can’t wait to see Owen ad a big brother.

  33. Yay! Best news ever :)

  34. Happy happy happy! :) So happy for you guys. Congrats!!

  35. Yay! Congrats! I read your blog all the time and have been waiting for you to post this. I had a feeling you were pregnant.

  36. Oh, wow! I guess I could see it coming (maybe it was just wishful thinking) like everyone else, but so glad to read you’re pregnant! Congratulations!

  37. CONGRATS!!! I knew it when I saw the opening scene of the vid when you were sitting on the couch …

  38. Congratulations! So happy for you and your family!

  39. I have been following you guys from the start but very rarely, if ever comment. I had to come out of the woodworks to congratulate you guys!
    Owen is going to make an awesome big brother!

  40. Woohoo! Congrats! So happy for you and your beautiful family!

  41. therapeuticbaking

    Yippee, Owen is going to be a big brother! How exciting! Congrats to you and Benjamin.

  42. I found your site through Sleeping should be easy, and just want to say a big ‘congratulations’! I had a quick read of what you have been through (I also had a miscarriage earlier this year) and I hope everything goes well.

  43. congratulations Kate!!! I went through exactly the same thing as you 2 months ago (and got great comfort from your posts and positive mindset about the whole thing) and your great news gives me some major hope-especially as I didn’t get a BPF this month. H&H pregnanct!

  44. Congratulations!!!! What wonderful news! Wishing you a wonderful remainder of your pregnancy. Looking forward to reading more about it. :)

    Our Sebastian’s due date was July 21, a mere ten days after Amélie’s birthday and I crossed my fingers he would not be born on her birthday or the day of her party. Thank goodness he wasn’t and came exactly a week after her special day. It’s so nice to have babies born in the same month and have them go through milestones in the same part of the year. It makes for some fun comparisons.

  45. Congratulations! Such wonderful news for the new year!

  46. Oh congrats!!! How wonderful :)

    And incidentally, m+M’s are a huge incentive in our house too!
    -Dana

  47. My comment showed up as “anonymous” above – but congratulations again!

  48. So happy for you – congratulations!

  49. Congratulations! What wonderful news! Happy New Year!

  50. Yay, happy congrats! So thrilled for you and hope this is a wonderful pregnancy. We are sharing our own good news this holiday season and I’m a couple of weeks behind you in due date. Has definitely made this a special year after a loooong 2.5 years of trying.

  51. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you and your family!

  52. RhodeyGirlTests

    I knew it!!! You were glowing in some photos you posted a couple of weeks ago. Congratulations Kate!

  53. How did I miss this last week–sorry to be so late in saying: Congratulations! What a great gift for the new year! So so happy for you! :)

  54. So sorry I am tardy to the party, but wanted to wish you Congratulations!!!! So happy for you and your beautiful family! 2013 is going to be AMAZING! :)

Leave a Reply

