She Says… The REAL Santa

Remember when I asked at what age kids “get” the magic of Christmas? Yeah. Owen has answered that question a million times over for me since I wrote that post. NOW. It’s here. THIS YEAR. He’s not quite 2 1/2, and the twinkle in his eye when he looks at Christmas lights or talks about Santa or says the word “Christmas” says it all. I’m not generally a crier, but I can’t even tell you how many times in the last few weeks tears have sprung to my eyes at just how precious Christmas magic is through Owen’s eyes.

The epitome of Christmas magic is, of course, seeing Santa. And I mean the REAL Santa.

santa1

I wasn’t sure that we were going to get an official Santa picture this year. My parents never did this growing up (too expensive and silly), so I never really thought it was a big deal. But the way that Owen listens to stories about Santa (The Polar Express is his favorite bedtime book right now) with his eyes wide and expectant made me think that maybe this was a little bit of Christmas magic we were missing out on.

So this past weekend we decided to go for it.

santa2

I heard rumors that there was an awesome Santa at a nearby mall. I knew that waiting in a long line would ruin the Christmas magic for all of us (me especially!), so first condition was that we had to get there early and be one of the first people in line. Check.

We met several other adorable children in line and the waiting part was far easier than I expected. When Santa came in ho-ho-hoing, I almost burst into tears. You should have seen Owen rushing up and shouting, “HI SANTA!”. He believed so totally and completely.

santa3

When it was finally Owen’s turn he hopped right up on the big guy’s lap and started babbling to him about Christmas and reindeer and our tree. When Santa asked him what toy he wanted, he grinned and said “a trash truck”. He couldn’t stop smiling.

Natick Mall_20121216_000023

Magic, I tell you. Christmas magic.

9 responses to “She Says… The REAL Santa

  1. We drove Ryan around our neighborhood last night to look at Christmas lights and I almost started crying at how excited he was every time we spotted another santa or “fwosty the nonam”. I actually said to Mike, “I can’t believe I am doing this with my own kid,” because I so vividly remember doing it with my parents and brother when I was little. I would say Ryan is just on the cusp of *really* getting it, and I already can’t wait for next year.

  2. When my son was little and really into The Polar Express storyline, we put a jingle bell in his stocking that looked just like the one in the book. He looked so pleased that he could hear the sound it made! It still hangs on our tree in a beloved spot.

  3. Absolutely precious!

    It is crazy how similar our lives are sometimes. There are so many of your posts that reflect EXACTLY what’s going on with us and this post described our Saturday to a T! He just couldn’t believe he got to sit on Santa’s knee and showed ZERO reluctance (what happened to my shy reserved little boy?). We (also) got in line early and Santa was a bit late arriving so we said he must have needed extra time to put on his boots and when he finally arrived he’s all, “Santa got on his boots!” We practiced what he would say to him and of course most of it got lost in the excitement of the moment and then yesterday on the way home from day care he says in the car, “Merry Christmas Santa!” lol My heart could not feel any fuller than it does right now.

  4. I know I’ve seen it somewhere here, Kate. Can you tell us what kind of camera you guys have? Your pictures are incredible.

  5. @PhaseThree, Oh, so sweet. It is strange to be “the parent” doing the same things our parents did. When did we get so old?!

    @SeattleGirl, That is adorable! I love that idea!

    @Angie, THIS is why we have kids, right? I LOVE that your son was so open and outgoing with Santa, I definitely remember how shy he has been — Santa must bring it out in kids :) Well… some kids.

    @Anonymous, When Benjamin uses his “nice” camera, it’s a Canon 7D. But to be honest, 99.9% of our pictures are taken on our iPhones now. The last pic above (of Owen on Santa’s lap) was the professional one that we had to pay for at the mall, so I don’t know what kind of camera it was. Thank you!

  6. Eli asks every morning if Santa came yet. Thankfully, he is appeased by knowing that Santa will come in just a few more days!

  7. Love, love, love this. It makes me excited for next year as Will is currently a bundle of nerves around the jolly old man.

  8. Hi santa, i always wonted to see u i am connor i hope u come to my house

Leave a Reply

