She Says… My Heart is Breaking

for the families who were impacted by the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown, CT. I cannot take my eyes off of the coverage.

It takes my breath away. Makes me sick to my stomach.

It makes me want to run out the door, grab Owen, and never let him go. To go live on a farm and keep him far, far away from situations where he could be taken away from me in such a horrific way.

Though I know that’s not possible; and it’s not the answer.

I don’t know what the answer is.

3 responses to “She Says… My Heart is Breaking

  1. I’m a teacher, and I just heard about this (I was told after my students went home). This hits home a little too much, I now need to figure out what I need to tell my second graders on Monday (I think I should) and we will discuss what we need to do in case ANY emergency happens. This is so scary, I’m shaking! I cant imagine being one of those teachers in that situation, or being a parent! It’s sick! I’m sorry to say that I don’t think there IS an answer. No matter how prepared a school is for something like this, it can still happen, and knowing this is terrifying. I have a meeting in half an hour to discuss this. I just can’t imagine.
    The only good (?) thing anout this is that it doesn’t happen often, which is why it is on the news and it hurts so much.
    Give Owen an extra big hug and be thankful he is healthy and safe! I know that’s what I’ll do with my students!

  2. As a teacher, I can’t possibly put into words the heartbreak I am feeling right now. I teach kindergarten, and as I was reading about this tragedy as it was updated throughout the day today, all I could think is “I would be dead, because I wouldn’t let anyone kill ANY of my students without giving my life first”. It makes no sense. His mom wasn’t even teaching – he killed her at her home, THEN drove to the school and killed 18 kids. That would be all but 3 of my babies that I teach all day long. Oh and then to think about it as a parent….if anything ever EVER happened to my (step)daughter, I can’t imagine having to deal with that pain. Ughhhhh!!! It’s just so senseless. What kind of pain was that poor man feeling to deal with it in such a heinous way? There just aren’t even words. At least not in my vocabulary.

  3. There are no words, for sure. We hope and we pray and we kiss and we love and we pray…and we hope.

Leave a Reply

