She Says… “Oh! I love it!”

I wish you all could have been sitting in the passenger seat of my car when I drove Owen home from school yesterday.

tree1

After putting up a little fight when it was time to come home (sound familiar? He seems to be having a bit of trouble with transitions the past week or so…), Owen was a little whiny in the car. He was mid-sentence when he stopped talking and his jaw dropped to the ground. “OH!” he shouted breathlessly. “I LOVE IT!”. I nearly slammed on the brakes just to see what he was so in love with.

I followed his gaze to a bush covered in colored Christmas lights. One bush. Some dinky little lights. Yet, he couldn’t even speak he was so enamored. Like he’d never seen anything so beautiful in his little life.

tree3

It was so completely one of those moments where this little person taught me such an important lesson. I couldn’t stop grinning the whole way home.

On Sunday we got our Christmas tree, and during Owen’s naptime yesterday I put on the lights (white, in our case, but they still elicited the same awed response) and got the stockings out of basement storage. Again, I wish you could have been a fly on the wall when he came downstairs. He jumped around the room shouting out everything that was different. The lights! The stockings! One with SANTA ON IT! Snowman decorations!

tree4

A Verizon Fios salesman came to our door to try to sell us something later that evening, and Owen jumped right out the door and screamed at him, “WE GOT A CHRISTMAS TREE! AND STOCKINS! AND SANTAAAAAAAAAAA!”. What can I say, the kid does not discriminate who he shares his enthusiasm with. Today he told his teachers all about the “hangins”, which I think is the cutest name for stockings (get it? hanging stockings became hangins?) EVER.

tree2

The level of his excitement and joy is astonishing. And hilarious. And precious. And beautiful.

Oh! I love it.

7 responses to “She Says… “Oh! I love it!”

  1. Aaahh – the magic of the holidays for old and young! :)

  2. Owen is one serious sweetiepie!

    CHRISTMAS WITH A TODDLER IS THE SINGLE BEST THING IN THE WORLD EVER!!! Every night driving home from daycare it’s a big light show tour and he cannot stop “whoooaing” and “kisssmas lights! ing” at all the lights. And Hubs made sure to have ours turned on so that our house would be all lit up when we pulled in the driveway yesterday since it’s already dark when we get home and he was squealing with delight. We got our tree on Sunday too, but so far have had no time to get it up, so I did one of those toddler felt trees on the wall and found battery operated mini light strings & dollar store ornaments and felt sticky stockings & santa hat decorations and he LOVES that thing. Just like Owen talks about the “hangin’s,” Cameron talks about the “hooks” (i.e. the hooks on the bulbs to hang on the tree). The first thing we MUST do when we get up in the morning and home at the end of the day is TURN ON DA LIGHTS! I simply cannot wait for his reaction when we get our “real” tree up!

    It’s moments like this that make me think back to the really hard newborn sleep-deprived days and remember that I used to wonder back then what it would be like experiencing these type of joys when he was older and chattering away about the lights and Santa and truly it gives me pause to kind of pay myself the time to “complete” that sense of wonderment by remembering back. I don’t know if that makes any sense? I just LOVE being a Mom so much :-)

  3. My 12 month old grandson has started pointing at things and making a sound equivalent to “Look” or “What’s that?” Recently we took him to our local Festival of Lights walk where we all walk from the waterfront up to the Provincial Building where they have a little ceremony to turn on all the Christmas lights. Before the lights came on he wasn’t too impressed with things but once they threw the switch, his face lit lit up and he started pointing and “exclaiming” at all the lights. Suddenly he gave a loud squeal and pointed up to the sky: it was a full moon, the brightest light of all!

    Such a joy to see things through these new eyes.

  4. So cute! Sounds like Owen answered your question of when kids “get” the magic of Christmas, lol!

  5. Ethan loves nothing more than driving around looking at all the “pretty lights.” And Miles is completely in love with the tiny tree we set up just for him and his brother – he reaches up and does his “gentle” patting of each branch and ornament. This has always been my favorite time of year – having little ones who love it as much as I do makes it 100 times better! Enjoy the season! :)

  6. Ditto everything Angie said. This is so magical. Ryan says “night-night” to the “kiki yights” (christmas lights) every night before he goes to bed. He points out all the ornaments and tells me what they are. And he reeeeally loves my little Christmas village with the lights on in the windows. This is why people have children. I think I need to go write a post about this now, haha.

  7. Such joy! It’s so exciting seeing it all through a child’s eyes. I’m due my first baby in April and seriously cannot wait til this time next year. It’s going to be Christmas mania in our house, whether the baby likes it or not!

Leave a Reply

