She Says… Whaddayou hmell, Mommy?

Last night, I smelled it. You know… it.

Fall.

Chilly air with a hint of smoke, like someone, somewhere is snuggling in front of a fire with a cozy blanket. The house filled with the smell of something yummy simmering away in the slow cooker (last night it was my chicken curry). The smell of leaves. You can almost taste it.

One of Owen’s favorite questions these days is, “Whaddayou hmell, Mommy?”. (Still working on starting words with an “s” sound). Sometimes it’s trash, sometimes it’s onion and garlic on the stove, sometimes it’s gasoline or baking bread. Yesterday I got to tell him, “Fall, buddy! It smells like fall. Mommy loves fall.”.

I’ve seen a lot of blog posts recently about yay pumpkins and yay scarves and yay cool weather and I couldn’t agree more. But I won’t bore you with all of the things I love about fall (a list of which, especially living in New England, could go on for days). This picture says it for me.

20120920-111828.jpg

6 responses to “She Says… Whaddayou hmell, Mommy?

  1. I am sooooo excited about fall :o) It does have such a wonderful smell

  2. I’ve been living in Southern CA for 7 years now and each year about this time I miss that smell so badly! Go outside and take a big long lingering whiff for me, will ya?
    I love the photo of your toddler running in the park in that gorgeous Autumn light.

  3. LOL. Miss A is still totally obsessed with identifying smells, pointing out when something stinks, asking why something stinks, farting and then asking “what smells stinky?”, and on and on and on. She started around Owen’s age. Is still going strong at age 4 and 1 twelfth.

  4. I am soooo pining for an East Coast fall. 106 degrees is unacceptable! I decorated my mantle with fall decor last night hoping to will some cooler temps and that awesome fall feeling. So far, no dice. Might have to see if baking something pumpkin-y this weekend will do the trick.

  5. i too live for fall! but around here, pumpkin season starts in april! ;)

  6. Jealous! I love that smell of fall and crispness in the air. Would love to see fall in New England sometime… I was hoping to smell fall here soon too but I took off my mask and, nope! Still smells like I am living inside a campfire! Back on with the mask. Pretty leaves all hidden by the smoke, bleh!

Leave a Reply

