She Says… Vacation Staycation

Vacation cures what ails you, my friends.

Even if that vacation is staying in your sister’s basement, with five kids under five, two sisters, one brother, parents and one brother-in-law and one sister-in-law (though we don’t think of them like inlaws… we think of them as just part of our one, big, crazy family).

It’s nutty. But it has been filled with cousins clinking sippy cups and holding hands and giving endless “huggies”, holding sweet babies and laughing with siblings who fall immediately back into roles of “big sister”, “little sister” and everything in between. We don’t change out of our pajamas until naptime and we barely need to shower since we spend at least a few hours a day in the pool. Every night we test the maximum number of people who can fit at the very extended dining room table and we commence a loud and wild dinner table of toddler-wrangling and food passing and a whole lot of memories being made.

In short, it warms my heart. THIS is what “home” feels like to me.

Of course the flip side is that I see what I’m missing all of the time living several hours away. But still, I am so happy for this time we get to spend together. Instead of spending money on vacationing away together, we decided to meet at my sister’s house for the week and play “pass the baby” with my 3 week old nephew (the only other boy cousin other than Owen). What resulted was a relaxing week of uninterrupted family time.

We’re having so much fun we just extended the trip, despite the fact that the cost of the change was almost the cost of the entire trip in the first place. It’s that good.

Full recap to come next week with photos and a review of how our 6 hour train ride went and everything else. But for now, I’m giving myself over completely to no computer time and will instead spend my time staring into the beautiful faces of my nieces and nephew.

See you next week!

2 responses to “She Says… Vacation Staycation

  1. This warms my heart. My brother and SIL live about 3 hours away & when they have their babies, they won’t be able to get rid of us. There’s NOTHING better than family. Enjoy your trip!! xoxo

  2. Have a great time! (I have that same tank top – cute!!)

Leave a Reply

