She Says… Amusement Parks… Amusing or Awful?

I’m not huge on amusement parks. I like some rides, but given that I’m generally a weenie, and, especially as I’ve gotten older, most of them make me feel like I’m going to puke. I don’t love waiting in line and I definitely don’t love getting overly hot, tired and dehydrated walking around in the sun all day with crowds of people all up in my bizniss.

Despite that, we took our first family amusement park trip the other day as part of our vacation week. Storyland is only about a 5 minute drive from Benjamin’s parent’s house in New Hampshire where we stayed for the last few days. Normally I wouldn’t imagine dragging a two year old to an all-day amusement park outing — skipping naptime and forcing that much sensory overload is a recipe for disaster and meltdowns, in my opinion. But since it was designed specifically for wee ones and was close enough to go home in time for Owen’s afternoon nap, we decided to give it a shot.

The short answer is that WE LOVED IT. We had such an awesome time.

Well, except for the first 10 minutes or so. Apparently Owen needed a little time to… acclimate. He really didn’t know what to expect at an “amusement park” and I think he was expecting a playground. When we arrived all he wanted to do was find a slide to play on. There was one, as part of a talking magical tree, but he didn’t understand why there were so many other kids there and why he had to wait so long to have a turn on the slide. Slowly, though, he got the hang of getting off rides once they were over and finding something NEW and EVEN BETTER to play on next. He wanted to ride every ride (even the roller coasters and others that were way too big for him). He walked around wide-eyed and amazed by all of the talking and singing characters and scenes.

The biggest hit? The choo choo train that traveled around the park. He could have ridden that all day. Makes me excited for our train ride to Delaware in a few weeks!

And his favorite ride? Most definitely the teacups.

I know, I know. Letting a kid who gets carsick get on the teacups was a real gamble. But he insisted, and we were as prepared as possible. And we really didn’t know if it would have the same effect. As it turns out, it didn’t. He LOVED being thrown around and twisted and turned and shouted “AGAIN!” as soon as it was over. Benjamin and I were good with just one ride, though.

After nearly 4 hours of amusement park fun, we were all more than ready to head home for lunch and naps. And I do mean all of us.

Another great vacay day!

3 responses to “She Says… Amusement Parks… Amusing or Awful?

  1. I loved StoryLand when I was a kid! Oh, this brought back great memories. I loved sitting next to the curds and whey lady and the spider would drop down. Glad that park is still in existence!

  2. Awesome! Question – what do you have on Owen’s birthday wish list? I am looking for some good ideas! :) Thanks!

  3. Try santas village next time, we like it better than storyland

Leave a Reply

