She Says… Sad Song. Again!

Oh, I wish you had been flies on the wall in Owen’s bedroom on Wednesday night.

Here’s the scene: It was just about bedtime. We had a nice bathtime and he was all sweet and clean and wrapped in his towel. I laid him on the changing table to get diapered and pajama-ed. As we were joking and playing around, I started singing “My Favorite Things” from the Sound of Music. I’d never sung that one before, and Owen was staring at me wide-eyed and totally engaged in the song.

When I got to the part that says, “When I’m feeling sad”, all of sudden his little brow knit together and his lip quivered. I had moved on to “I simply remember my favorite things.. and then I don’t feel…” and he started WAILING. I mean huge, crocodile tears rolling down his cheeks. Body-heaving sobs.

I stopped singing. “What happened? Why are you sad, buddy?”. “SAD SONG. OWEN SAD. HUG, MOMMY!”. He was reaching for me from the changing table with the most pitiful face. I hugged him and tried to explain (through my giggles) that the song was actually about being happy (but the expression “then I don’t feel so bad” doesn’t exactly mean “happy” to a toddler). I stifled my laughter, finished pajama-ing, dried his tears and sent him to the bookshelf to pick a book to read.

But he didn’t want a book.

“Sad song ‘gain, Mommy?”.

He wanted me to sing it again. Even though it made him cry.

So I sang it again, thinking he was over the word sad. But when I got to “when I’m feeling sad”, the SAME THING happened. He cried and cried. Hard. He pulled me to him and said, “Rock in chair. SAD SONG.” At this point I’m practically peeing my pants I’m laughing so hard. I know it’s not nice to laugh at your child crying, but really. How sweet! What raw emotion! What a strong connection between the word sad and actually being sad! What an empathetic little boy! Is “My Favorite Things” really the saddest song he’s ever heard? That, for some reason, struck me as hilarious.

I rocked him in the rocking chair and he said, “Sing it again! SAD SONG!”. I told him no, I didn’t want to sing the song again if it made him sad. He tried everything he could remember from the song, “Kitten song ‘gain? ‘Nofake song ‘gain? Packages ‘tring song again?”.

I asked him why it made him sad and he just nodded his head yes. I asked him if he just needed to cry (what kind of question is that for a 2 year old?!), and he kept nodding. I sang it again. He cried. I rocked.

Catharsis, I guess.

Soon tears were rolling down my face too, but they weren’t sad tears. I literally couldn’t stop laughing about it all night. I hope to get this on video for you very soon. You’ll pee your pants too.

12 responses to “She Says… Sad Song. Again!

  1. I have tears in my eyes from laughing. PLEASE get this on video. Too funny… what a sweet little man you have!

  2. Oh my gosh – this is one of the best posts I’ve read in a long time. SO funny!

  3. OMG now THAT is a story you’ll never forget and will tell him when he’s older – soooo sweet!!

  4. Owen is just so sweet. I hope you get it on tape. And I think we need more Owen pics too.

  5. hahahahahahaha, hilarious!
    -Amanda

  6. SO funny…but sad…but even more funny!! i don’t think i would’ve been able to hold in the laughter. what a sweet and silly boy you have. :) best story ever!!

  7. That is simultaneously sad and HILARIOUS. He’ll be a sucker for a Nicholas Sparks movie when he grows up. :-)

  8. Best. Thing. I. Have. Read. All. Week.

  9. That is so sweet! My 4 year old is a lot like this, certain songs always make him cry. When he was a baby I sang him to sleep with “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head” and as a first birthday present I gave him a music box that played the song. Inside the lid I wrote “Happy 1st Birthday Gavin. I love you! Love, Mommy”. Now that he can read, the inside message made him burst into tears “cuz of the words”. :)
    I also recently started singing “My Favorite Things” to my almost one year old daughter, intending to give her my music box that plays it. Hope it doesn’t make her cry too!

  10. I had to forward this one to several people (I usually show Mom all the pics when I am visiting her).

  11. He’s too precious! Happy 6th anniversary, wedding twins!!

  12. Aw that is so, so sweet! I heard somewhere that sometimes when kids cry it’s because they just need to. Like, they literally just want to cry and get it out of their system. How cute of Owen to want to cry. Either he’s really in touch with his emotions or he’s one heck of an actor who can cry on demand ;)

Leave a Reply

