She Says… Remember?

Do you remember the good ol’ days when we used to post beautiful photos on this blog? Yeah, me too. And it hasn’t happened for a long time.

Do you know why?

The iPhone.

The iPhone and the fact that a wildly mobile and active toddler almost always means blurry photos. But I still blame the iPhone.

When Owen was tiny and would stay where I put him, we did the “monthly photo” thang. You know, stick him in a chair in a cute outfit once a month and snap a million pictures in order to get one or two keepers that you can hang up at his first birthday party. Although it was a struggle to do it regularly, it was also an incredible opportunity to capture the huge changes of those first few months of life. I am SO glad we did it. But I was also SO glad that I let myself stop doing it when he hit 1 year old.

After he turned one, we had various photo opportunities where Benjamin would whip out “the good camera”. Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter. But the number of high-quality photos declined dramatically.

But other than that? To capture the everyday cuteness and silliness? We use our iPhones. While it’s great to be able to pull out my phone from my back pocket and take a picture or video at a moment’s notice, it has also almost entirely obliterated our “good camera” usage. And that makes me sad.

Benjamin is SO talented behind the lens. Someday, when I have the time, I will re-learn all of the things I learned in photography class in college. But for now I rely almost entirely on Benjamin’s mad skillz.

So for Mother’s Day, after dinner, Benjamin suggested we play in the backyard and have a little photo session. Happy Mother’s Day, indeed.

Come on. Admit it. You only read this blog to see the adorable pictures of Owen.

I don’t blame you one bit.

18 responses to “She Says… Remember?

  1. What an adorable boy!

  2. So cute! (And you’re so pretty :)

  3. Love them all but the first photo of the two of you and the last one are my favorite. So beautiful. I wish my husband would even take a photo now and then, let alone have this kind of talent!

  4. “I never remember to use my multi-hundred dollar camera because my smart phone is closer to me” #problemsoftheonepercent.

    Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. :)

  5. @Kara, HAHAHAHA. So true.

  6. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO adorable!!! And you look stunning, Kate — such a glow — mommy glee! I am the camera-queen of the household so we don’t have nearly as many pics of Maya and me as we do Luis and Maya. He is much more of a “be in the moment” kind of person than a “snap this moment for posterity” kind of person (i.e., me).

  7. Oh and we use the iPhone for most of our photos, too — it’s just easier than the nice camera. Plus, in Jamaica in April, I accidentally deleted ALL the pics on my memory card on our nicer camera. :( Literally, two hours before we jetted home. OY.

  8. …yes, the adorable pictures of Owen… and of Schnitzel… We are a one boy, one dog household, too (the dog is a girl, though ;-)).

  9. I was just going to post something on this exact same issue! I just got an iPhone and discovered instagram. Insta-you-will-never-use-your-nice-camera-again. :( I think it is nice to take the time to bring out the hold ball and chain (er, lens) and take some fantastic photos like you did! Such great photos!

  10. So true. I have found myself picking up the camera less and less the fast William gets. Every once in awhile I’ll catch a good one, but there is a lot of blurriness to sift through. Great photos though–you guys are adorable :)

  11. Points for Benjamin for suggesting a Mother’s Day photo op! I’m totally with you on the blurry iPhone. We have a nice camera too that we’ve since relegated to the corner of the house because the iPhones are just so darn easy. But yeah, blurry too :( Okay you’ve since inspired me to bust out the nice camera, however bulky it is!

  12. Beautiful. You guys are amazingly photogenic!

  13. such a beautiful family!!! I really enjoy reading your blog!!!!

  14. Thanks, everyone!

  15. beautiful photos of a beautiful family! What a great idea by Benjamin for Mother’s Day!

  16. oh btw I love your dress Kate!

  17. Yes, your dress is gorgeous!

  18. PhaseThreeOfLife

    Catching up on blogs after my trip home and had to say I LOVE these photos. Gorgeous! You’ve inspired me to try to whip out the good camera this weekend. I rely on the darn iphone way too much.

Leave a Reply

