Daily Archives: May 16, 2012

She Says… Remember?

Do you remember the good ol’ days when we used to post beautiful photos on this blog? Yeah, me too. And it hasn’t happened for a long time.

Do you know why?

The iPhone.

The iPhone and the fact that a wildly mobile and active toddler almost always means blurry photos. But I still blame the iPhone.

When Owen was tiny and would stay where I put him, we did the “monthly photo” thang. You know, stick him in a chair in a cute outfit once a month and snap a million pictures in order to get one or two keepers that you can hang up at his first birthday party. Although it was a struggle to do it regularly, it was also an incredible opportunity to capture the huge changes of those first few months of life. I am SO glad we did it. But I was also SO glad that I let myself stop doing it when he hit 1 year old.

After he turned one, we had various photo opportunities where Benjamin would whip out “the good camera”. Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter. But the number of high-quality photos declined dramatically.

But other than that? To capture the everyday cuteness and silliness? We use our iPhones. While it’s great to be able to pull out my phone from my back pocket and take a picture or video at a moment’s notice, it has also almost entirely obliterated our “good camera” usage. And that makes me sad.

Benjamin is SO talented behind the lens. Someday, when I have the time, I will re-learn all of the things I learned in photography class in college. But for now I rely almost entirely on Benjamin’s mad skillz.

So for Mother’s Day, after dinner, Benjamin suggested we play in the backyard and have a little photo session. Happy Mother’s Day, indeed.

Come on. Admit it. You only read this blog to see the adorable pictures of Owen.

I don’t blame you one bit.