She Says… Mother’s Day

On Friday night, as Benjamin and I were having a quiet night watching tv together (which hasn’t happened in a LONG time, thanks to his crazy work/travel schedule and my work and random events like singing at the Red Sox game), he casually mentioned that he should probably make brunch reservations for Mother’s Day. On Sunday.

I just laughed. Of course he should have made reservations already. Every mother in the Boston area wants to go out to brunch.

I also kind of rolled my eyes. Since I am always the one making the reservations and the plans for our family, it was not a surprise that he hadn’t thought of it. Although a tiny part of me wished that he had planned ahead a little more, the rest of me realized that a weekend with him at home is far more important than any brunch reservations. As it turned out, he had a few little tricks up his sleeve and we had a lovely, special day.

He taught Owen to say “Happy Mother’s Day” to surprise me. (Or perhaps I should say, “Happy Mother’s Mommy”).

There were crayon drawings and flowers.

We took a leisurely walk as a family and got coffees in the morning. After a sweet morning, Benjamin gave me my REAL present, which was a few hours in the mall by myself to do some shopping. A few hours later we met one set of Benjamin’s parents for an early dinner at one of my favorite restaurants.

Brunch or not, the day reminded me just how thankful I am to have these two wonderful men in my life. And just how in love with them I am.

Last year I blogged about how becoming a mother changed me. It was one of my favorite posts I’ve ever written. Every word is still very much true today. This year, though, I felt the calm confidence of having been a mother for even longer. The “new me” that emerged after becoming a mother is not so new. It’s just… me, now.

My days are not filled with the strain of wishing for a baby or waiting for that positive pregnancy test. They are not filled with the drama of the newborn months, obsessing about nursing and reflux and how many minutes my baby has been asleep. They are spent exploring and imagining and chatting with my hilarious little boy. They have a rhythm, a routine, a predictable course. It’s in times like these that I’m able to look back on all of the frustrating, stressful, difficult times and actually feel happy that they happened exactly as they did. Because I’m here now, and it’s better than I imagined it would be.

6 responses to “She Says… Mother’s Day

  1. I don’t know what I’m more jealous of…that you have a mall or that you got to go shopping alone. :)

  2. :) you have arrived.

  3. stefblakely

    I cannot get enough of that video– Owen is amazing. There are 3 & 4 year olds that can’t speak as clearly as he does! Awesome kid…no doubt he gets it from his awesome mommy. :)

  4. Hi Kate! I have been a long time lurker (since you very first found out you were pregnant with Owen) but I had to comment on Owens AMAZING language skills! I’m a speech pathology student and he can communicate better than most 3 year olds! Awesome job mama!

  5. @Stefblakely and @Miranda, Thank you so much! It is so awesome to watch him talk to people in public now and have them understand him. The things he says are so funny, so clever, so sweet. Those little toddler brains are amazing things.

  6. OMG that is something special right there. Cameron was watching it with me and when it was over he got all sad and said, “Uh on, all done, more peeease” I let him watch it about 5 times :-)

Leave a Reply

