She Says… Toddlers & Ties

Not to be confused with Toddlers & Tiaras.

Quite the opposite, in fact.

I woke up on Easter morning to a Facebook/Twitter/Instagram feed of everyone else’s children wearing beautifully matching outfits and digging into perfectly crafted Easter baskets piled high with toys and Peeps and bunny-shaped goodies. As Owen drank his milk and wandered around in his pj’s, totally unaware that it was a “holiday” and that “the Easter bunny” should have come, I felt… lame. Like I had missed the boat to do all the cutesy schmutesy stuff I secretly kind of love. I just… haven’t had much time recently. And, frankly, since we’re not religious people, Easter doesn’t really mean a whole lot more than chocolate eggs to us. And the kid has never really had chocolate and I just couldn’t see how giving him a basket full of sugar was going to be a good idea. We were heading to Benjamin’s mom’s house for an Easter egg hunt in the afternoon and I knew there would likely be a basket waiting there for Owen, so I didn’t sweat it too much. But I did feel some pangs of jealousy at all of the Easter perfection it looked like others had pulled together (especially when I realized that Owen only had ONE collared shirt and ONE pair of nice pants that fit right now… and the pants had stains on them. Sigh.).

So we ironed that little never-worn-before shirt and dug up a little tie that my sister had given Owen last Christmas. It was too short and the shirt was denim (square dance, anyone?), but somehow that added to the cuteness of Owen’s little makeshift Easter ensemble.

Even a lame Mama who avoided those adorable little sweater vests like the plague (but somehow still wished she had bought one) can’t keep Owen’s precious little face from smiling.

Really, people. Is there ANYTHING cuter than little boys in little ties?

Also? Owen is an egg hunting PRO. I’m definitely going to work a “treasure hunt” into his 2nd birthday party in a few months.

Despite the lack of matching clothes and overflowing Easter baskets, we had a lovely, lovely weekend full of family and a happy kid. Can’t ask for more than that.

11 responses to “She Says… Toddlers & Ties

  1. Those pics of the 2 of you are so, so precious!

    we’re not religious either, and yet felt bad last night that we hadn’t gotten her an Easter basket (she did get some goodies from relatives and enjoy an egg hunt at grandma’s house)… so I ordered her a sparkly blue ukulele as a belated present for a holiday we don’t celebrate. ha ha

    the treasure hunt at the bday party sounds AWESOME!

  2. super adorable pictures!!!!! blaine didn’t get an easter basket from us either; but mainly because his mommy is lazy and knows that the grandparents have that one covered quite well! oh and if grandma hadn’t have gotten him an easter outfit at a consignment sale, he would have been dressed in his everyday clothes too. mommy fail! LOL. we do celebrate Easter but i think that is a good point too; the holiday is not really about an easter basket and nice clothes.

  3. If it makes you feel better, I had candy in the kid’s Easter basket, but no intention of letting her eat it. She threw around the bags of jelly beans like bean bags and eventually I put them away. She still had fun. :)

  4. To answer your rhetorical question, “Really, people. Is there ANYTHING cuter than little boys in little ties?”, I would have to say that baby girl legs in tights are awfully cute too. You just want to get a handful of them – please don’t squeeze the Charmin…
    I swear that you and Owen are two of the most photogenic people I’ve ever met.

  5. Look at those puckered lips! And what a great idea for a treasure hunt theme for a birthday party. Looks like you guys had a great time.

  6. PhaseThreeOfLife

    The last two pics of you and him are PRECIOUS! Definite framers.

  7. Ohmygosh that last picture is PERFECT!!

  8. Oh, I’m a “little boys in sweater vests” person – and I never thought I would be! But the first time I saw my little guy in a little sweater vest, my heart melted — and I knew I would dress him that way for every holiday as long as he let me! And now I’m even worse because I have TWO little boys – so I dress them in the SAME sweater vest outfits for holidays. Who have I become??? They are just too precious, though, I can’t help it! So I say embrace it – they’re only little for so long and I know, sooner than later, neither of them will want me to have anything to do with their clothing choices! So I’ll take what I can get until then!

  9. @ginger, LOVE the sparkly ukelele! I want one!

    @christy, Glad I am not alone :)

    @Kara, That makes me feel worse. Why didn’t I see the potential for buying myself candy under the guise of being a perfect mom?! Next year, fo sho.

    @nancy, Oooh, touche! I totally agree. I could eat up little girls in leggings too. And those cute little ruffly diaper covers.

    @Sleeping Mom, Thanks! Yes, I’m not sure how I’ll work it into a party yet, but kids seem to totally dig this idea. Finding eggs is SO! MUCH! FUN!

    @PhaseThreeOfLife and @Casey, Thank you!

    @Carly, Oh I totally hear you. I want in next time.

  10. Owen is adorable, as always, but WHERE did you get that great bird shirt?? I love it!

  11. @Jess, Isn’t it adorable? I actually found it at H&M in Paris a few weeks ago. I don’t know if they have it at H&M here in the states, but it’s worth a shot. Super cute and CHEAP too :)

Leave a Reply

