She Says… Motor Mouth

Since Owen started talking, he hasn’t stopped. It seems like just yesterday he was “talking” like this, but recently he has been talking up a storm. Like, really talking. It literally feels like he learns 2 or 3 new words every single day. One day I’ll say something to him, he’ll repeat it, and before I know it he’s using the word appropriately and chattering away. He remembers things I told him days, weeks, months ago. He is especially keen on names. He remembers his cousins from Thanksgiving, and talks about them constantly.

He is an excellent communicator when he doesn’t have the words for what he wants, too. He uses sign language, points, grunts, gestures, and uses very distinct facial expressions. And of course he is adept at using the back-arching, crying, “someone just did something awful to me” wail to express his emotions as well (when I, you know, tell him it’s time to change his diaper). He understands full sentences and high level social cues. He often preempts things, like saying “buh bye” before I have actually said it myself during a phone conversation. The kid is very tuned in to conversation and words.

The other day in the car Benjamin and I were having a quiet conversation and mentioned the word “train” (as in, to train for a 5k), and from the backseat we hear Owen quietly saying, “Choo choo!”. It took me a minute to realize that he was responding to what I was saying to Benjamin in a different context, but it just goes to show — he’s always listening, like a little sponge.

He’s also beginning to connect words into phrases and sentences now too. When we read books with dogs in them, he’ll say “doggie”. And then point to Schnitzel and say, “OUR doggie”. And he connects hello with peoples’ names on the phone, “Hi-yo, RahRah!” (RahRah is my mom). “Hi-yo, Dada!”.

The words are coming so fast and furious now that I wanted to get a list of the ones he’s saying now. I’m sure I’m forgetting a lot, but this is a basic list. No surprise that the thing we talk about the most is food!

Food: eat, spoon (boon), cup, green beans (een bee), peas, hummus (hummy), apple, kiwi, egg (eh), coconut oil (coco oyyo, which is what we cook his eggs in and he is obsessed with talking about it), hot dog (aht-toh), cracker, cereal (ee-oh), Pirate Booty (booty, or, more recently, boo-TAY), cheese (gee), milk, water (wah-woo)

Cleaning/Yard Work: vaccuum (yap-poo), broom, mop, rake, lawnmower (maw-mowah), outside (ah-yo)

Transportation: car, truck, bus (bah), train (choo choo), tractor

Animals: cat (MOW!), doggie, puppy, kitty (kiki), lion/tiger/leopard (rawr), elephant (sprays air out of his mouth to make a trumpet sound), fish (makes bubble popping sound with mouth), bunny (scrunches nose and sniffs), cow (oooo), bird (bahdee), goat (mehhhh), sheep (baaa)

Shapes: Circle, star (dawr)

Names: Mommy, Dada, RahRah (my mom), Pop (Benjamin’s dad), Abby, Becca (Gah-bah), Tori (Toyee), Ruthie, Ellie (Aggee)

Most of his words are pretty clear. But there are a few words that come out completely wrong (outside = ah-yoh, vaccuum = yap-poo, his cousin Becca = Gahbah), yet he insists on saying them that way. Not sure why that is, but I try to just say the word back correctly so as not to reinforce the strange pronunciation. At this point he’s talking so much at 16.5 months that I’m not really worried about pronunciation.

What does your toddler talk about? Owen cracks me up every day with the funny things he comes up with. The way he uses the words he knows (like seeing stars and circles everywhere and talking about playing with brooms and mops on the ride home from daycare) is absolutely adorable. And learning new ones is such a thrill… for both of us!

 

7 responses to “She Says… Motor Mouth

  1. I can’t wait until we get a vocab explosion. Blaine is stuck talking about gak-gaks (tractors) and dadda (yes dadda is his hero, but maybe can we try to say “mom”?!!).

  2. Oh, this brings me back! I LOVE language development. Daniel had that same explosion in vocabulary at a very very similar age (and, as you may have noticed, he ALSO hasn’t ever stopped talking…). It’s so much fun to hear them pick it all up.

    Some of my favorite early mispronunciations:
    blanket was said as “bacon”
    story was “day-yo”
    and his own sister, Rebecca, was “Nee-nee.”

    As long as you speak normally, he’ll totally fix his own pronunciations, and if you’re like me, you’ll actually be a little sad when he does. I was so bummed when my kids stopped saying “pack-pack” for backpack.

  3. Julia (first child) used to say:
    “Taubewies” for Strawberries
    “Gutranane” for “Nutragrain” (Nutragrain bars, what I thought was a good healthy snack 17 years ago)
    And she would ask for Jews in the FridgaFrayda (no honey, we don’t have any Jews in the Refrigerator) (Juice).

    Toby (Second child): Who the hell can remember the second child?! :)

  4. Well aren’t you fancy with the talking toddler. You know what? Mine likes to spit in her hand and then wipe it on my pants. Yeah, she’s a genius and could probably beat Owen up with all of his fancy words.

    :)

  5. Um wow, that is extremely impressive!!!

    and Kara’s comment… extremely hilarious

  6. SOoooooooooooo cute! Maya turns a year on Sunday and I can’t wait til she is really talking. Her “words” consist of lalalaal, rahrahrah, ba, dadada, mamama, mum, and doe (we think is dog? She loves Rocco!)and she mimics all kinds of sounds, but isn’t talking real words yet. We heard “dad” the other day which I’m 100% sure was not intentional.

    There is an awesome book a friend gave me that is used to document all the funny things kids say … wish I could remember the name!! GR. Anyway, what a chatty cathy you have!

  7. SOoooooooooooo cute! Maya turns a year on Sunday and I can’t wait til she is really talking. Her “words” consist of lalalaal, rahrahrah, ba, dadada, mamama, mum, and doe (we think is dog? She loves Rocco!)and she mimics all kinds of sounds, but isn’t talking real words yet. We heard “dad” the other day which I’m 100% sure was not intentional.

    There is an awesome book a friend gave me that is used to document all the funny things kids say … wish I could remember the name!! GR. Anyway, what a chatty cathy you have!

Leave a Reply

