Daily Archives: May 24, 2011

She Says… Chatterbox

As you heard in yesterday’s video, Owen likes to run his mouth. In that video it was mostly vowels and yelling (which makes me giggle every. single. time.), but often it’s a sing-songy little chatter that is beginning to sound more and more like words. It makes my heart swell with love when I hear his little “dee dah blah blah ba ba ba” coming from the stroller while we’re on a walk, or while he’s playing. And if I yawn loudly or sing, he, too, chimes in with swoops from low to high or high to low, sometimes even matching my pitch (though probably by accident). Adorable.

It may be my imagination, but I feel like his consonants are starting to align with words that he hears a lot. When we’re around the dog or Daddy, there are a lot more purposeful “Da DAHs”. Just yesterday I was getting a lot of “Nnnnnnaaaaaannnnn”s while we were playing together (I’ve given up on hoping for “Mama”, but “Naannnnnnn” is a pretty cute replacement). The other night after he finished dinner it sounded like he said “All done!” clear as day. Benjamin and I both cracked up, because it sounded so perfectly pronounced. While that was probably a mistake, he does say “ah dah” after eating sometimes.

And I’m beginning to wonder if it’s NOT my imagination, but rather that he’s learning how to differentiate between sounds and starting to use them appropriately. Most of the time it’s just babbling, but a few key words are sticking, I think.

We’ve been doing baby sign language since he was about 5 months old, too. I remember reading that lots of babies can understand signs long before they can sign them back to you, so it’s important to just keep doing the sign every time you say the word, even if it seems like the baby could care less. We do basic signs like “milk”, “food”, “all done”, “change” (for diaper), “bathtime”, “drink” (for water), and “sleep”. They don’t do them at our current daycare (though the new daycare does!), so I imagine it will take him a little longer to pick them up because it’s not consistent.

Sometimes, though not always, he signs for milk when it’s time for a bottle. He seems to do it more when he’s frustrated or very hungry, so I can already see how it may help him feel less frustrated when he wants to tell me something but doesn’t have the words. I haven’t seen any of the other signs from him yet, but he’s still so little.

Am I crazy to think these sounds might be the beginning of language? Or does it start this early? When have you seen progress towards actual words in your child(ren)?

In other news, we’re STILL PACKING. I’m leaving for a work trip tomorrow for a few days, and when I get home it’s just about MOVING DAY! WOO HOO! 5 days and counting.