Daily Archives: March 22, 2011

She Says… Mom Of The Year

Uhhh, not quite.

Poor Owen has had a rough 3 weeks. First it was the super high fever, then the pneumonia, and now, when I thought he was finally out of the woods, a new virus strikes. After our ever-so-fun night in the ER, Owen’s pneumonia improved dramatically. We did at-home breathing treatments for a few days, and that plus the antibiotics cleared his gunk up quickly. By Tuesday he was back to his jolly self without a wheeze in sight. He had four lovely, healthy days while I was away in New York for work. Benjamin kept texting me to say, “We have the BEST baby”. I smiled every time. I know. It’s true.

I got home from New York on Friday night after Owen’s bedtime, so by Saturday morning I was about ready to burst into his room and give him a good snuggle as soon as I heard a peep from the baby monitor. Sick or well, I had missed him SO MUCH. I scooped him up and nuzzled his little neck and smelled his sweet little baby smell.

And then I saw it.

A scary looking patch of skin on the back of his neck. Looked like a little group of blisters or bug bites that were raised and white, and surrounded by red skin. Yuck. Although Owen has been through a lot of colds and viruses, I’ve never dealt with an acute rash or skin issue (beyond his eczema), so I was immediately worried. When I changed his diaper I noticed red bumps all over one of his legs and in his diaper area. Double yuck. What was this rash? It didn’t seem to be itching him and he was laughing and giggling as if nothing was wrong. While that’s generally a good thing, I’ve learned that Owen will still smile and giggle through some pretty serious symptoms, so I can’t necessarily take his happy face to mean that nothing is wrong.

Benjamin assured me that rash was not around for the last few days while I was gone, so it must have started overnight. The doctor confirmed that the thing on his neck was a viral infection, and the little red dots all over his leg and torso were just his body’s reaction to the virus. So he gave us an anti-viral medicine and sent us on our way.

The medicine had a big sticker on the front that said, “This medicine may upset your stomach. Take with crackers or a small meal”. Hm, I thought. Hope it doesn’t upset Owen’s stomach, because it’s not so easy for an 8 month old to just munch some crackers while he takes his meds. He has to take it three times a day, spaced out as much as possible. That  means as soon as he wakes up, and right before he goes to bed, and halfway in between. NOT exactly mealtimes (though he does drink a bottle upon waking and before bed).

Saturday night I gave him his meds right before his night time bottle, and put him to sleep like normal. He went to sleep after a little “da da da”ing in his crib. I heard some fussing around 10pm, but only for a minute or two, and then silence. That’s not out of the ordinary, so I didn’t think anything of it. He slept soundly all night, and woke up around 6:30am on Sunday.

When I went to get him out of his crib on Sunday morning, I screamed “OH. MY. GOD.”. Benjamin came running in.

He was COVERED in puke. I mean, covered. The entire mattress, his lovey, his pj’s, his hands, his face, his hair. COVERED. IN GREEN, CRUSTY PUKE. (Note to self: Lentils, sweet potato and spinach looks pretty much the same coming back up as it does going down). It was everywhere. EVERYWHERE! Clearly he had vomited at some point after he went to sleep at 6:30pm and before he woke up at 6:30am but didn’t think it was enough of an issue to LET ME KNOW that something had gone awry. I appreciate that he’s a good sleeper, but really?! Sleeping covered in his own puke?! DISGUSTING. I felt horrible for not knowing, or not checking on him, or not guessing that this might happen.

Mom of the year, right?