Daily Archives: March 7, 2011

She Says… Like Magic

We’ve had a weird weekend in the This Place is Now a Home home (is that redundant?). Owen has been to the doctor twice in the last 4 days because that darn fever just wouldn’t go away. I took him back again over the weekend because his fever was still steady and his nasal congestion was making it hard for him to drink his bottles, but the 2nd doc said the same thing as the first one: Just a run-of-the-mill upper respiratory viral infection that we have to let run its course. Nothing we can do except give him Motrin to keep him comfy, and keep booger sucking and humidifying and pumping him full of fluids. Done and done.

This morning the fever was gone, and just the sinus congestion remains (for both of us!). He’s been in a fantastic mood throughout the whole thing, so I’m happy to say it hasn’t affected him too much. He’s also slept through the night every night, despite the fact that his little nasal passages are barely open.

In other news, all of a sudden, like magic, Owen has learned how to make all kinds of new sounds. He went from “oooh” and “aaaah” and the occasional “gggggoo” to “blib blab jib jad doo doo dada [insert raspberry here] bloo blah blee blah ggggghoo ghee lee la”. It’s AMAZING. Here I was thinking he was a little behind some other babies his age in terms of language development, and he certainly proved me wrong (don’t get me wrong, NOT in a worrisome way, he was just always more concerned with movement and physical development than language). Apparently he likes to do things in leaps and bounds instead of little by little.

I HAVE to get these new sounds on video for you. They crack me up all day long. It actually sounds like words now, though I have no idea what they mean. Despite all the new consonants he’s trying out, I still have yet to hear a “ma” (though he does say “mmm” when he likes his food, which is so adorable), so I think I’m going to admit right now that “mama” isn’t going to be the first word out of his mouth. Ha! That’s ok with me. I LOVE to hear him babble!

In other big news, we went for a walk yesterday and there is practically NO SNOW LEFT. Hallelujah!!! It’s been a long, long, LONG winter and I’m really ready to see some green. So far I just see brown (dirt. lots of dirt.), but I think the green is not far away. Damn, it feels GOOD to go outside without gloves and a hat on. And all this melting snow and rain is great for Owen’s eczema :)

So, we’re on the mend! Hoping for a healthier week this week for all of us!