She Says… Off the Wagon

I’ve fallen off the wagon. The workout wagon.

Finding (nay, making) time to exercise post-baby has come  in waves. Right after Owen was born I had a longer recovery than I expected, so my only exercise was walking my wriggly little newborn around in the stroller, worrying if he was getting too much sun. Despite feeling like I was barely doing anything, I began to see my pre-baby body emerge and the extra padding melt away. Once I recovered and was able to be active again, I got into a really good routine of working out during naptimes and going for longer, more energetic walks with Owen and Schnitzel. When the weather turned colder and walks were not so comfortable (or even possible for my sensitive-skinned child), naps were becoming more regular, so I set up a living room workout space and sweated it out in front of dvd’s during morning naps.

When I returned to work in January, I had visions of working out during lunch hours and getting back into my pre-baby fitness level by power walking my commute and fitting in trips to the gym while Owen was happily playing at daycare.

Do you know what? That’s just not happening. Shocker.

I returned to work at 80%, working 4 days a week. I’m getting paid less, yet I didn’t seem to give up any responsibilities. Which means that essentially I’m doing 5 days worth of work in 4 days. And, I’ll be honest, I was a super efficient worker before, so now I’m kind of on the verge of maxing out. I don’t feel totally overwhelmed, but I am working my butt off from the minute I start in the morning to the minute I close my laptop at night. (Side note: Wouldn’t it be great if we could literally work our butts off? Then I wouldn’t have to make time for the gym…) There are no lunchtime workouts, or quick stops at the gym on my way home. There is not enough time (or energy) for morning yoga routines or strength training or workout dvd’s. Thankfully I am pretty strict about closing the laptop and leaving it closed once the work day is over, so family time is family time. Once in a long time I have to work at night, but that’s rare, and I work hard to keep it that way.

Still, this whole working mom thing is go-go-go all day and all night.

We’re doing fine. The laundry is done (most of the time), and sometimes even folded within a day or so of coming out of the dryer. The dishes are washed (thanks to my resident dishwasher wonderful husband). Owen’s food and bottles are prepped each night before daycare days so we can grab ‘n go in the mornings. We cook yummy dinners (for the most part) and Benjamin and I enjoy a few hours together each night after Owen goes to bed (even if we generally choose to spend them in front of the tv… don’t judge). We spend our Saturdays running errands and seeing friends. I even squeeze out time to blog most days. Life is pretty darn good, even if I feel like I’m running as fast as I can and just barely keeping up.

I may have fallen off the workout wagon, but it’s not really a big deal at the moment. At least I know my priorities are in the right place. Owen is, without a doubt, the most important thing in my life right now. Above work and working out and laundry and dishes and even (gasp!) blogging.

Screw the workout wagon. I’ve got enough going on. At least for now.

 

17 responses to “She Says… Off the Wagon

  1. I am proud of you for being okay with not working out like you want to right now… you are doing a damned good job at everything else! I just finally started working out again a few weeks ago… and I still only get 1 or 2 workouts in a week.

  2. AMEN! I honestly feel like you’re living an ACTIVE lifestyle – even if you don’t necessarily have the time to workout.

  3. I can’t imagine working full time (or 4 days a week) and still working out at my current level. Maybe when summer comes and the days get longer you can fit in some family walks after work.

    As long as you’re happy with not formally working out, I think you’ll be fine!

  4. I’ve heard so many new moms make the same comment about going to 80%–that you get paid 20% less to do the same amount of work. It’s just ridiculous and completely unfair!

  5. I know you are super busy and somethings have to give, but I’m sure once spring and summer come, going out for walks / runs with baby will be more feasible!! [at least blaming winter is what i do! lol]

  6. Oh, I feel you about feeling like you’re go-go-going all day and all night. I’ve been back at work full-time for just over a month now….and sometimes it is just so overwhelming working out of the home all day and then trying to squeeze dinner, Owen-time (my baby has the same name), chores and husband-time in the few hours after work. It is so much harder than I thought it would be. I’m hanging on…but sometimes it just feels barely.

  7. I’m right there with you. 10lbs away from my prebaby weight and I’m not making exercise a priority. If I can’t make it to the gym, I’m trying to at least walk 30 mins on my lunch break…but even that doesn’t happen every day! Oh well.

  8. I hear you! I am working 60% (3 days a week) and those days are go go go!

  9. Good for you! It’s nice to hear that you’re ok with the situation–you’re always so level headed about things.

  10. Yes–I feel the go, go, go, go thing, too. Exhausting. And the gym has completely fallen by the wayside. I often have to choose: relax with DH or go to the gym, and I choose DH almost every time. I like your attitude about this!

  11. This post is so positive and encouraging as I am due with my first in April!! Sounds like you have a great routine and I hope to achieve that as well. Nice job! PS. Owen is abolutely adorable…..I haven’t checked your blog in a while (sorry) and to see the recent photos and footage has melted my heart for you! -Cathy

  12. oh I’ve been off and on the wagon ever since I hit nine months of pregnancy…….I love it when I’m on but don’t sweat it when I’m off. Take it easy on yourself for a while! Life is crazy!

  13. You’re doing better than I was… I had a VERY hard time getting dinner on the table!

  14. i agree! no guilt. there is so much new going on right now that staying on top of the basics is plenty good!

  15. You are doing great! I am going through the same thing right now. However, we are going on vacation in April so I am feeling a little pressure to keep up with my workouts! :)

  16. The only reason I work out 3-4 times a week right now is because I’m training for a half-marathon relay and it’s my “me” time. But I have no guilt about how I used to go to the gym 5-6 times a week – there’s just too much going on now, and Elle a) keeps me so busy I forget to eat some times and b) keeps me on the go constantly :)

  17. Pingback: Can I Have Two More Hours, PLEASE?! « Tales of a (Recovering) Disordered Eater

Leave a Reply

