She Says… Re-Yogaing

It’s been awhile since I saw the inside of the gym. As those who have been reading this blog for awhile know, I used to go all the time. Even when I was 34 weeks pregnant (and beyond). Once Owen was born, my recovery took a lot longer than I thought it was going to, and I became active in other ways, but getting out of the house long enough to actually get to the gym became a rarity.

And by rarity I mean I could probably count on one hand the number of times that I’ve gone in the last 6 months.

I’ve gotten creative; I do a mean Jillian Michaels workout in my living room and can bang out a set of squats and lunges while I’m cooking dinner, but those days of long cardio sessions at the gym may be over, at least for the time being. I have actually been looking forward to going back to work so that I might be able to fit in some uninterrupted gym time while knowing that Owen is being cared for and entertained. Now that things at work are settling into a routine, I planned for this week to be my reunion with my long lost love friend frenemy, the gym.

Enter: Snowmaggedon 2011.

The meteorologists are calling this “one of the worst storms in history” because of the snow > sleet > snow > rain forecasts, and it’s bound to be a disaster on top of the millions of inches of snow that are already on the ground. Needless to say, after a slippery walk to daycare this morning, I realized I was not going to make it to the gym. Bummer. But the good news is that Owen is at daycare and I’m working from home, so at least I could start my “I’m going to work out again” plan from home.

I  banged out one of my favorite workout dvd’s and then tried out a yoga program on my new cable provider’s OnDemand. Both were awesome! How freeing it is to be able to work out and not listen for the cries on the baby monitor that always seem to cut my workout just short of feeling satisfying. This time I pushed hard and got through the whole workout.

Bonus: Yoga is WAY more fun to do without a big belly getting in the way! I felt so strong and flexible. Good to know that 6 months off from working out didn’t cause all my muscles to atrophy. So my new challenge to myself to workout at least three times a week is ON. Any suggestions for other workouts to do inside at home, since I may be trapped here indefinitely due to snow and ice?

8 responses to “She Says… Re-Yogaing

  1. So are you ready for spring yet? We’ve got blizzard conditions here and the snow is practically blowing sideways. This is when I am thankful to have a treadmill in the basement. As much as I hate getting on it, it does come in handy.

  2. Good luck! I’m a big fan of the Physique 57 dvds.

  3. I love Jillian’s workout videos too. Have you tried the 30 day shred video? It is awesome, you can do a good workout in 20 minutes and, now that I’ve finally gotten “in shape”, I actually will do two workouts on this video and it actually gets me pretty sweaty and sore! Give it a whirl…I do it at night after work/when E goes down for the night. But I so so fantasize about the spring and getting outdoors with her in the stroller…….someday!

  4. I like the Bob Harper Inside out workout dvd (http://itsadoglickbabyworld.blogspot.com/2011/01/workout-dvd-review-bob-harper-inside.html) and I make up my own boot camp sometimes, usually using workout cards from Shape magazine or something. My go-to workout is running, but I know that’s not your cup of tea, but maybe you’ll like that DVD? :)

  5. We’re expecting the storm to it NY tonight/tomorrow so I’m in the same boat!

  6. I’m training for a half-marathon relay, but on the days I can’t run, I try to mix it up with the 30-Day Shred, The FIRM videos and Zumba for Wii. It is quite a challenge finding something short that will still get your heart pumping!

  7. Get some resistance bands, a stability ball and maybe a pull up bar. These are the basics that I recommend when people are starting to build a home-gym.

    Personally, I’m doing a program at home called ChaLEAN Extreme, which is a strength training program. I’m loving it!

  8. I have fallen in love with “insanity” it is super intense, but I end up feeling very proud of myself when I make it through them at the end. Each workout is about 40 minutes… and I can see and feel the difference in my body. totally hard core, and i suggest it, since you do jillian 2 levels at a time (YOU GO GIRL!) I still love her videos, as well as The Firm too. :) I also just tried a zumba class, and am sincerely tempted to get the Zumba DVDs!!!!! They are super fun!

Leave a Reply

