She Says… 6 Months

Happy half-birthday, little one!


I know I say this every month, but I am overwhelmed by just how quickly time is going by and how much you’ve changed since last month. Slow down just a tad, ok? You are so perfect right now, at this moment, and I just want to bottle you up and keep you this way forever. Well, probably not forever forever, but I can’t even put into words how much I love this 4 – 6 month stage.

You are wide-eyed and amazed by the world around you. Your little hands hover in mid-air, fingers wiggling, as you gasp and coo at everything going on around you. People often laugh when they see you and say, “He looks so excited!”, but you and I know that’s just the way you are. Excited. When you see me after a nap or when someone else has been holding you, your face erupts into a gigantic grin and your little eyes dance. I live for those moments, my tiny man. Even though you are having so many new experiences with other people these days, it’s pretty clear you have a special place for me in your heart. And I you.

This past month held a lot of firsts for both of us! I went back to work for the first time in 5 months, you started daycare, you got your first cold (not coincidentally the same time as starting daycare), and you learned to sit up. Although I was dreading going back to work because I knew how much I would miss you, it was a really positive change for us. I do miss you, but it is so wonderful to know that you are spending the day with people who love you, and learning more than I could teach you on my own. You LOVE daycare! You took to it like a fish to water. You proved to me that you are more flexible than I gave you credit for. I’m sure it’s not the last time you will impress and surprise me with what you are capable of. You have already melted the hearts of the teachers there. I just love coming in at the end of the day and having them tell me what a great day you had and seeing your smiling face.

Even though daycare has changed your nap schedule somewhat (all of a sudden you can stay up for 3 hours instead of 2, and your naps are slightly shorter and more often… probably due to being woken up more often by noises), your night-time schedule is still PERFECT. Since that first day at 4 1/2 months when you slept through the night for the first time, you’ve never gone back to waking up!!! Every night around 6:15pm or so we play in the bath, do a little massage/lotion, wrap you up in your sleep sack and give you one last bottle and you’re sleepy and milk drunk by the end. You fuss once in awhile (usually around 4am), but you always put yourself back to sleep after a few minutes, and sleep right through until 6:30 or 7:00am. You are the best sleeper. I feel so lucky and I am thrilled every morning when we wake up that we made it one more night of lovely sleep. I know there will come a day that you will need me to come in to your room, but I am incredibly proud that you haven’t needed it yet.

Despite being a little guy (20th percentile), you are a voracious eater. You suck down your 4 bottles a day, and are very good about letting me know when you are done. In fact, you close your little lips so tight I couldn’t get another drop in there if I tried, which is pretty funny to watch. You love, love, love solid food. In the last month we added apples, bananas, green beans and sweet potatoes. You love them all! The only thing you’ve turned your nose up at is pure green beans. You prefer them mixed with other things (aka disguised). I’ll remember that when you’re older :) You also showed quite an interest in cups. Especially mine and Daddy’s. So whenever we are drinking water, I give you the sign language for “cup” and you drink some too, out of your own cup. What a big boy!

Your laugh is music to my ears. Daddy and I know all the little tricks to make you crack up, and we can’t help but crack up too. We have a little game we call “The Alphabet Game”, which, for some reason, you find hilarious. It’s really just Daddy and I saying the alphabet in funny voices, surprising you with each letter, but you laugh like we are the funniest comedians you’ve ever seen. Sometimes when you laugh you snort too, and that makes me laugh even harder. For your sake I hope you grow out of that, but for now it’s totally adorable.

Owen, you are the most precious thing I’ve ever created. I am so in love with you that sometimes (ok, most of the time) I can’t concentrate on anything but you. I have emails I need to write, friends I need to call and errands I need to run, but nothing gets done when I can just stare into your big, blue eyes all day long. And even though I’m back to work and I have to hand you off to someone else 4 days a week, I think about you all the time. And even though it was really hard for me to make the decision to do that, I truly believe it is a wonderful thing for us. You are already a more well-rounded and flexible child, and I know you will grow up to have many happy days and new friends at daycare.

You’re my favorite.

Love,
Mama

10 responses to “She Says… 6 Months

  1. Oh my GOODNESS. He is so totally adorable. I love the combination of his spiky hair and those sweet and cozy PJs. Well done, mama!

  2. Great pictures! I’m jealous of his wake-up times, can you bottle that? I’m tired of getting up at 5:37 every morning (literally, 5:37, I swear she has a little alarm clock hidden in her crib).

    It’s so funny how different babies are already. Mine is only a little older and she’s so different from Owen (very reserved with strangers and watchful and quiet when we go out, not excited and openly happy like Owen). She does the same mouth clamped shut thing when she’s full though! Also, she’s not a green bean fan either. I can’t blame her, it smells awful :)

  3. Though I am in now way CLOSE to having a baby, you make me very excited to do so one day. What a happy baby!

  4. Happy 6 months! These photos are adorable

  5. So sweet, and the pictures are perfect. Kisses from us!

  6. Kate – your son is just gorgeous! Maybe when they are older we can set my my daughter and him up on a blind date. ;-) I’m so glad everything is going so well, that he’s eating so much and so happy at day care – and that you are feeling fulfilled at work. That is such great news. I am constantly amazed at your positive attitude, you seem so genuinely happy about everything! I try to emulate that in my own life. Thanks for sharing your beautiful little boy with all of us!

  7. awwhh happy 6 months, owen! i need some major major MAJOR advice on getting a 6 month old to sleep all night long and like solid foods.

  8. I had a hard time reading your post because I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the adorable pictures. He is just so cute! 6 months is so much fun. 9 months too. And 12 months, 18 months…

  9. Happy 6 months!! Owen is so adorable. The pictures are so cute! So glad everything is going well for you both and although I mostly lurk, I look forward to continued updates as he grows!!

  10. Beautiful pictures. What a sweet boy!

Leave a Reply

