She Says… My Little Bookworm and Barefoot Books GIVEAWAY!

A month or two ago I began reading to Owen. I know, I know, I could have started even before he was born, but to be honest, it felt a little silly and he really couldn’t tell the difference between me reading to him and talking to him (which I did, and do, a lot). Anyway, as he began to hold his head up better and tolerate sitting in my lap for short periods of time, I started to introduce some books. You know what? Maybe there IS a difference between reading and talking, because Owen is absolutely enthralled when I read to him. Maybe it’s my “reading voice”, or the fact that there’s something to look at while I read, but he loves loves loves to be read to. I started with Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?. I don’t know if it’s the simple illustrations or the repetitive words, but he could listen to this book all day long. His jaw drops and he sits quiet as a mouse while I read it to him. Slowly I expanded our repertoire to include other titles like The Going to Bed Book and Jamberry. His current favorite book is Is Your Mama a Llama, which has become our nap routine. He coos and babbles along with me when I read it.

These books are great, but it gets a bit boring to read the same 3 books over and over and over. And while I know babies thrive on routine and repetition, I think it’s also good to expand our vocabulary with new books from time to time. Which is why I was like a kid in a candy store when I attended the Boston Parent Blogger event a few weeks ago that was held at the Barefoot Books flagship store in Concord, MA. Not only is the store adorable (brightly colored and covered in thoughtful touches, and includes areas for storytelling and yoga and lots of activities to engage little ones), but the walls are lined with the beautiful, beautiful books that Barefoot Books publishes and sells. Seriously, these books are like works of art. And many of them come with CD’s of music or readings of the stories so kids can sing and read along.

They don’t have very many retail stores, so those not lucky enough to live near the Concord store will have to shop online. The Barefoot Books website also has some awesome, free content available for family fun. They have storytimes on podcast (what a fun way for your child to hear stories read by different people without leaving your home!) and digital videos (they are also on YouTube and iTunes if you want to purchase or subscribe). The videos show off some of the gorgeous illustrations from their books, too.

And now, my lucky readers, Barefoot Books has offered to do a giveaway for you! Do you want to receive one of these beautiful books to share with your little one(s)?

Here’s what you need to do to enter:

1. Go to Barefoot Books and find your favorite title.

2. Leave me a comment here with that title.

3. One extra entry if you tweet about this giveaway or post about it on YOUR blog. Don’t forget to leave me another comment letting me know you tweeted/posted about it.

I’ll have Owen pick a random number to choose the winner, and Barefoot will send the lucky person one book (sorry, only in North America, and they can’t ship to P.O. boxes). You have until Tuesday, December 21st to enter.

36 responses to “She Says… My Little Bookworm and Barefoot Books GIVEAWAY!

  1. Bear in a Square – that’s a funny title :)
    That sounds like an awesome store!

  2. I’d love to read The Animal Boogie to my little one (when he arrives in hopefully about a week!!) since his nursery theme is animals. As a first grade teacher this post makes me so happy to see that you’re reading some really good books to Owen!! :)

  3. I Took the Moon for a Walk. The title reminded me of when I was little and I needed to say goodnight to the moon before bedtime. It was always tough when it was a ‘new moon’! Thanks for having this great giveaway!

  4. I was immediately drawn to The Gigantic Turnip. Not sure why, but it looks like a good one to start our library for our little one with :)

  5. I would love to see what “Mother Goose Remembers” is about!

  6. aw, M loves Brown Bear, Brown Bear and The Going to Bed book too. That’s basically all she’s getting for Christmas- new books! But, winning a giveaway would still be fun :) Listen, Listen looks cute. It’s a large format board book. We have Hop on Pop in a large board book and she LOVES it.

  7. I Spy the Sun in the Sky looks cute!

    Also, had to add that we LOVE Is Your Mama a Llama! But it bugs my husband and I that “Rhonda” and “responded” don’t rhyme, so we always say “Rhonda responda.” Yes, we’re nerds. :)

  8. What a great book store/website! I love animal books so I think I’m most drawn to “There’s a cow in the cabbage patch! BTW I’m having my boy/girl twins tomorrow :) Can’t wait for storytime!

  9. I think Everly would really like Listen, Listen because she loves when I make different sounds. Plus, the cover of the book is beautiful! :)

  10. The Laundry Lady

    I Took the Moon for a Walk looks adorable. My daughter is obsessed with the moon. So much so that my husband is actually considering painting a moon on her bedroom wall!

  11. Who Are You, Baby Kangaroo?
    I’m 15 weeks pregnant and our little one was conceived in Australia!

  12. I Took the Moon for a Walk — reminds me of the book “Goodnight Moon”!

  13. “I Took the Moon for a Walk” by Carolyn Curtis looks awesome!

  14. “Driving My Tractor” without a doubt!! I’m sure it will be no time until my son is driving tractors with daddy!! :)

  15. The Animal Boogie looks like a fun book
    tanyainjville at yahoo dot com

  16. tweet

  17. I like “I Took the Moon for a Walk.” Never too early to start a library for our unborn kids! :)

  18. “Who’s in the Garden?” by: Phillis Gershator looks like such a cute and colorful book for my little girl! My 4 1/2 month old really loves being read to right now. When I turn the page she squeals with delight!

  19. My favorite is “I spy the sun in the sky”. I went straight to the baby books and liked that this one had lots of rhymes and repitition. Babies love that. All the books look precious!

  20. My 2 year old daughter and I love “And we All Go Traveling By.” My aunt sang it with her this summer, and she loves doing movements with the song, as well as reading the book and pointing out the different modes of transportation.

  21. Listen, Listen looks great. My little guy loves anything with animals!

  22. I would love Clare Beaton’s “Nursery Rhymes” for my little Jenna! It seems standard that all kids should know the classic nursery rhymes…and I can’t remember all of the classics! :( I need a refresher and I think she would love it! haha

  23. The Gigantic Turnip looks like a book both my 2 year old and 4 month old would enjoy! Who am I kidding — it looks like something I would love to read! kjflick@edu.pe.ca

  24. I Spy the Sun in the Sky… beautiful illustrations! Eli LOVES the beach & the ocean already, so I think he’d love this book for years to come!

    What a neat bookstore, and what neat books! I could spend hours picking books for my little guy!

  25. Cleo’s Counting Book seems like a book my little one would enjoy!

  26. Tweeted, also :)

  27. I’d like to check out I took the moon for a walk.

  28. Aww! I need to read to my son more too. He loves rhymes so I think our favorite would definitely “Action Rhymes”!

  29. My husband and I are expecting our first child in June and are just starting a library for the little one. I’d love to add “Listen, Listen” to our collection, since a board book would get a lot of use the first couple of years! Thanks for the great blog & giveaway!

  30. “I Took the Moon for a Walk” looks like a book that my boys would love. Thanks for doing this fun giveaway!

  31. We went and looked, and my little guy (4 years old) chose “A Dragon on the Doorstep”. :)

  32. “Magic Train Ride” looks like a great book that will really spur young imaginations!

  33. Baby’s First Book looks cute!!

  34. One city, two brothers.

  35. My favorite is “I took the Moon for a Walk”. What a great giveaway!

  36. Love the book store’s site! I’m intrigued by “How Big is a Pig.”

Leave a Reply

