Daily Archives: September 23, 2010

He Says… Least Favorite Words

“Can you put the baby to bed?”

This makes me cringe.  And I feel horrible that I feel this way, because I am acutely aware of how much work Kate does, and I want to support her as much as I can in taking care of Owen.  Since my opportunities to feed Owen are limited, then putting him to sleep at nap times or when he gets up at night when it’s not time to feed him is something I should be able to do.

But I suck at it.

And it really bothers me.

I don’t know if it’s just not having “mom’s touch”, or whatever, but I find that every time I try to put Owen down it takes many attempts and sometimes some intervention by Kate to get the job done.  I find that if he’s being fussy, I am pretty successful at rocking or patting him and making him stop but often his eyes stay wide open, or when I try to transition him back to his crib, his face goes all red in his “I-am-about-to-wail” look.  So I pick him up again and start over.

Kate says he’s the same with her.  But I don’t believe her.