Daily Archives: August 4, 2010

She Says… The New Normal

Today was Owen’s due date. Since last November I burned “August 4th” into my memory as the day my baby was going to be born. At about 36 weeks, I began to have a funny feeling that he was going to pop out earlier than expected. Lo and behold, I was right. Instead of being born today, Owen is 11 days old. And boy am I glad I’ve already gone through the labor and delivery part and now I can just enjoy my little man!

I can’t quite believe it’s been almost 2 weeks since my water broke in the middle of the night following a relaxing evening eating Chinese food with Benjamin. Part of me feels like it’s gone by in the blink of an eye. On the other hand, we’ve learned so much in the past 11 days, trial by fire. We’ve had so many “firsts” that in some ways it feels like we’ve spent months figuring it all out. The cliche is 100% true: I can barely remember my life before my little guy arrived.

Although the word “schedule” can only be used very loosely with a newborn, we seem to have found a pattern in the last week that keeps us all happy and as rested as possible. And that’s really all you can hope for in the first weeks, right? Give or take an hour, this is how the last few days have gone. Who knows what the next few will bring!

7:00am – 8:00am It’s hard to say when our day really “starts”, since it kind of just keeps going all the time. There’s not a “bedtime” or a “waking up” time… it’s just one big cycle. But for the sake of explaining our daily schedule, I’ll start at the first feeding I consider morning. I open the shade in the nursery and let the morning light in, and change and feed Owen while singing some little songs.

8:00am – 8:30am I take a milk-drunk Owen into our bedroom and hand him to a sleepy Daddy who burps him and hangs out while I shower/dress/tidy the nursery/pick out clothes for Owen/start laundry, etc.

8:30am – 9:00am Owen has some quiet awake time, opens his eyes for awhile, and makes some cute cooing noises. I gaze at him in my arms and try to eat breakfast with one hand.

9:00am – 10:00am Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

10:00am – 11:00am Nap. Usually after his awake period in the morning, Owen falls asleep while being burped, so I put him down for a nap (for now he’s sleeping in a little bassinet in our living room during the day so I can watch him sleep, instead of in his crib up in the nursery, which is on a different floor of the house).

11:00am – 12:00pm Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

12:00pm – 1:00pm Depends on the day — maybe a walk with the dog, quick trip to the grocery store, another nap, more quiet awake time…

1:00pm – 2:00pm Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

2:00pm – 3:00pm Nap and/or quiet awake time.

3:00pm – 4:00pm Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

4:00pm – 5:00pm You got it: Nap and/or quiet awake time… or maybe a bath.

5:00pm – 6:00pm Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

6:00pm – 7:00pm Hopefully Owen sleeps while Benjamin and I eat dinner… so far he seems to have some sort of radar for when it’s dinner time and he likes to fuss just enough so that one of us will hold him.

7:00pm – 8:00pm Diaper change, nurse for 45 minutes, burp.

8:00pm – 9:00pm Hopefully quiet awake time for Owen so he is even sleepier for the next “nap time”, which is my bed time. Usually at this point in the evening this feeding is pushed to 9:00pm – 10:00pm due to little extensions of nap times throughout the day. If that’s the case, Owen and I get ready for bed.

9:00pm – 10:00pm One last diaper change, hopefully a good long nursing session and a loud burp. Then I wrap Owen in a swaddle and sway/rock him a little before putting him down in his crib.

Then we all go to sleep and let Owen wake us up for the next feeding. The last few nights this has been a 4-5 hour stretch. He’s such an awesome sleeper! Around 2:00am or 3:00am I’m usually woken up by him making noise. Not crying, exactly, but fussing and making angry noises from the crib. Then you know the drill — a diaper change, 45 minute nursing session and a burp. Then I lay him back down for one more “long” sleep (4-5 hours), and then it’s morning time and we start all over again!

So far it seems we have been blessed with a very relaxed baby who eats and sleeps very well, and on somewhat of a schedule too! Don’t worry, I’m not getting cocky… I am well aware that this wonderful, relatively quiet newborn stage could end at any moment. So I’m savoring every minute of my 2 1/2 – 3 hour sleep sessions. But a girl can dream, right?