He Says… Owen’s Birthday, on video

So being me, I took some video on the day of Owen’s birth.  Don’t worry, there is nothing gross here; I was preoccupied during all the time of active labor and pushing.  But I got some nice moments throughout the day, before and after his birth.  It’s a little fragmented because I didn’t shoot a ton, but when I put some of the clips together I thought it created a nice little piece.  I showed it to Kate last night and we both got teary-eyed watching it.  It really was such an incredible experience to witness, and the outcome is, well, perfect!

41 responses to “He Says… Owen’s Birthday, on video

  1. Benjamin, what a beautiful video! Kate–you did so great! Owen is gorgeous.

  2. What a sweet, beautiful video! This is definitely something to cherish forever.

  3. This is absolutely precious. And priceless.

  4. Love it the video!! All the best for the family!
    Owen is so cute!

  5. This is so cute and such a great thing to have. The beginning, when Kate is saying goodbye to the dog, makes me sad! As much as I look forward to having and bringing home our baby, I always get a little misty when I think about how things will change around our house in a few short weeks. Our poor pup has been our “baby” for over four years and I feel guilty that she will be taking a backseat soon. I think I will be sad to leave her when we go to the hospital, just knowing that things will never be the same!

    Anyway, I love the whole thing! Even if it’s not the “full story,” you still captured some moments that are precious and you’ll be happy you have them for the future.

  6. Oh my goodness, what a wonderful video! I hope there are more videos and pictures to come of that sweet little boy :)

  7. P.S. Benjamin–I know the equipment you use is all fancy-schmancy :), but do you have any recommendations for HD camcorders for the layperson? I actually have a Canon 7D, but I’m a photographer, not a videographer. I have used the HD video on it, but find it difficult to continually have to manually refocus. Also, my husband (not a photographer OR videographer) really can’t use it effectively. So I think we need something a bit more simple.

    We have a DV cam that we got in 2005-2006ish, and of course it’s totally obsolete now that everything is HD. *sigh* Anyway, since we’ve invested so much in the photography side, we’re looking for a really affordable option that will still give us the great HD video–we are expecting our baby in +/- 7 weeks and it would be great to have something prior to that, I think!

  8. I love it!! I also got super teary when you were saying goodbye to your dog, haha.

  9. I just read the last post and the video showed up right after!
    It was incredible! Your baby is the cuttest!
    Can not wait for my little girl!
    Congratulations once more!

  10. This is so sweet and totally made me teary! Huge congratulations. Can’t wait to see more of little Owen!

  11. Kate and Ben!!! Congrats, this was a great video, I definitely teared up. Great work Kate, it sounds like you were a real superwoman during the pushing stages. He is so freakin’ adorable! Can’t wait for more updates.

  12. Beautiful!

  13. Taryn M. Peine

    Oh my gosh I don’t even know you guys and I sobbed through this entire thing. It’s fantastic! I love his little hiccups at the end! Kate you looked beautiful. Congratulations guys!! Owen is a doll!

  14. This video is so amazing! I am so happy for you and little Owen who is such a cutie! In all seriousness though, Kate, please tell me you are wearing make-up during your labor!? You look gorgeous….glowing Momma!

  15. LOVE IT!! We find out today if we are having a boy or a girl and this video makes me soooo much more excited for our appointment.. (if that was even possible)

    Little Owen is so precious! I want to reach out and hold him through the screen! Lol

    God bless you both through the future journeys with your new little man!! Congrats again!!

  16. “and he can go home withyous’ love it.

    be sure to get some video of daddy being with the boy too!

  17. loved it!!!! congrats again!!!

  18. OK, even I liked that.

  19. Congrats!!! What a beautiful little boy!

  20. That video is amazing. So beautiful. Congratulations!

    And Owen was so tinnnyyy!!! I love how the nurses aren’t afraid to just do what they need to do. and he was SO cute with his hiccups!

    Congratulations to all three of you!

  21. I’m so happy for you two! Ben, that was a really great video. Kate, you’re a trooper!

  22. Truly amazing. I love the part that captures Kate kissing his little hand.

  23. Congratulations to both of you!! What an amazing video. And Kate, you look fantastic through the whole thing – I’m very impressed. I remember saying to my nurses, “What do you mean this isn’t active labor??” Doesn’t the epi do wonders, though? Owen’s little hiccups are adorable. :) Hope you’re both settling in. I’m sure there’s very little sleep happening in your house!

  24. what a beautiful video! thanks for sharing. i’m sure you will enjoy looking back on this years down the road.

  25. Owen is adoooorable :)
    The video is so very well put together even if Ben thinks it is fragmented by his standards :)

  26. That’s an awesome video guys! What kind of camera is that, the quality is amazing.

  27. Thanks Derrick. The camera is a Canon 7D. Shoots great video (and stills). It helps that Benjamin is in the filmmaking business.

  28. So lovely. Made me teary, both because I was remembering my own birth experience, and because it’s so great to see you guys with the baby you wanted so much. I kept thinking of your pregnancy test video. :)
    I’m sure Owen will love seeing this one day.

  29. Absolutely amazing video! It makes me want to just push this baby right on out…

    Kate, you looked incredible during labor which I’m calling unfair. Wait til you see my pictures during labor- bet you I’m a complete mess. :)

  30. Thanks for the info Kate. My wife is due in two weeks and we’ve been following on your heels the whole way, now I have to run out and buy that camera, : ). Best of luck with the little guy.

  31. OMG, the part where Kate is breastfeeding, kissing his precious fingers saying, “You are such a good boy…you are so sweet,” I had tears streaming down my cheeks. You guys are just awesome.

  32. Excellent video. Thank you for sharing this! We are due in 5 weeks and this was great to see.

  33. So cute – and Owen’s face when he’s hiccuping is just the most precious thing. He just looks confused like he’s thinking ‘what are these things and why are they doing this to me??’ Adorable.

    - CJ

  34. OMG, that video was out of this worldddddddddd!!!!!!!!! So gorgeous. Loved all the photojournalism!! And the quality was outstanding. I’m going to try to figure out what kind of video camera you guys have :)

  35. That was so beautiful and left me in tears. Congrats to the happy family :)

  36. What a beautiful video! Congratulations again to you both! Nothing gets your heart strings more than the sound of a baby’s cry. You did an outstanding job Kate. Little Owen will one day grow up and really appreciate this look into his day of birth :)

  37. What a beautiful video!!! Not to mention a beautiful little boy…Congratulations!

  38. Oh my god, completely amazing. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. It almost moved me to tears a couple of times. I can’t help but think about how we’ll get to experience this soon. Congrats again to both of you – Owen is absolutely beautiful.

  39. You guys – that is the sweetest birth video ever! You guys did good! (and the video is very well done, too!)

  40. The hiccups got me again (just looked at my comment from last year).

    I love him!

    Kate, you make labor, delivery, and being a new mom look SO easy. I hope I am as blessed as you in that department!

Leave a Reply

