She Says… Guess where we are?

It’s 1am. I wake up and have to pee. Definitely having a contraction. Take one step and feel a gush. Another step, another gush. I waddle my way to the bathroom. Who knew there could possibly be so much liquid that would come out uncontrollably? I’m so glad I was in the privacy of my own home as my water broke.

The contractions started coming fast and furious. They definitely hurt more than any I’d had before. What they say is true, you’ll know when the contractions are “real”. What they never told me, however, was that the gush I felt didn’t stop gushing. I tried to stand up, I gushed. I tried to go back to the bedroom. I gushed. Finally I made my way back to the bedroom and said those words I’ve been waiting to say: “Honey, I think my water just broke.” Like any good husband, Benjamin, now wide awake, said to me, “ok, I think we should go back to bed.” But I wasn’t so sure. So I called the doctor and gave her all my info. I expected her to say that we could labor at home until the contractions were unbearable, but instead, she told us to get our butts to the hospital.

We showered, finished packing, and gave Schnitzel a kiss goodbye before heading to the hospital in our new car (with a trash bag lining the passenger seat). We arrived at the hospital and labor really began. They don’t call it labor for nothing, folks; it’s hard and it hurts. Since my water had broken, they didn’t want to do an exam for awhile due to the risk of infection. My plan was to hold out until 5cm before getting an epidural, but without getting checked, I held on for as long as I could. I reached my pain threshold and asked for an epidural. We were shocked at how quickly this was all happening. I got the epidural around 4:30am and it was a breeze. Then the doctor did an exam and, lo and behold, I was 6cm dilated. I was pretty proud of myself for making it that far.

Since then, Benjamin and I have been resting. Well, Benjamin has been sleeping and I have laboring quietly and relatively comfortably (thanks to the epidural). If everything progresses according to plan, I should be fully dilated by 10am. We’ll be sure to update more throughout the day, but we’re hoping to see our baby’s cute little face by lunch time!

UPDATE: Just had another exam.  9cm at 9:00am.  Baby should be coming soon!

41 responses to “She Says… Guess where we are?

  1. so excited for you all!!

  2. Come on, baby! We can’t wait to meet you! Kate and Benjamin — We’re so happy for you. You’re doing great!

  3. Ahhhhh!!! I’m thinking of you two and SOOOOOOO unbelievably excited! You’re going to meet your son any time now!!!

  4. Yay!! Feeling excited just reading this and can’t even imagine how much more excited you two are!

  5. Eeeeeeee!! This is so exciting! so funny how you guys knew it was coming soon – this is finally happening wheeeeee:) can’t wait to see the little one- congratulations guys!!!!

  6. I am so glad you decided on the epidural. It makes things much easier during labor. You seem like you are so close and will be holding your sweet baby anytime now. Just think, this time last year, you were praying to get pregnant. Now, you’re about to be a mama! Love you, you can do this!!!

  7. I am so impressed with the blogging WHILE IN LABOR. Damn, girl. I don’t even know if I’M that committed. ;)

    Good luck, sounds like things are going as well as they possibly could!

  8. yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You can do it!!

  9. Yay!! So excited for you! I had one labor start that way, and it is by far the best way! No wondering is this it?? You definitely know! Can’t wait to see pics of that sweet boy!

  10. Congratulations!! Enjoy those first moments with your son – they are precious :)

  11. Congrats Kate!! Welcome to the Mommy Club!!

  12. Congratulations!!!!!!

  13. I hope your labor is beautiful and as comfortable as it can be. I’m excited for you.

  14. Hooray! So excited for you, and I can’t wait to hear the news and the name!

    Also, very impressed that you’re blogging, and coherently at that. I couldn’t even focus enough to read People magazine when I was in labor. :)

  15. Oh my goooooodness!!!! Piccolino is ready for the world!

  16. YAY! This is all so exciting and brings back so many memories! Thinking of you two today and praying things go well for all of you!

  17. I cannot believe you are blogging from L&D! Congrats, I can’t wait to see his cute little face!!

  18. EEK! This is the post we’ve all been waiting for! Congrats on making it past the hard part…it’s truly a miracle enjoy every second!

  19. I am SO excited!!! This was a great way to start my day and I can’t wait to hear more about your son’s arrival. Sounds like everything has gone really well. Great job keeping us posted.

  20. I don’t think I’ve ever commented here before, but I’ve been reading for a long time. Was SO excited to see this post when I woke up today- hope everything goes smoothly!

  21. omg – waiting (and not calling) is so hard…..my body is at home, but the rest of me is with you, my loves! g-daddy has his cell clutched into his hand! we love you all so much!! xo

  22. oops – hit send to soon….kate, you even look lovely in labor in that stunning nightgown. ;-) xo

  23. i am soooooooooooooooo EXCITED

  24. I’ve been following your blog ever since I came across your announcement video on youtube. I am so very happy for you all and I hope your delivery was everything you expected it to be. I can’t wait to find out what his name is :) And you all got the mini-van just in time! :) Congrats!

  25. OMG OMG OMG!!!! I can’t believe you wrote a blog post from the hospital AND WHILE IN LABOR!! It makes it so real for all of us readers who have been with you from the start!! I was in the hopital having a baby last Saturday!! But my baby didn’t come until Sunday wee morning :). GOOD LUCK AND WAY TO GET AN EPIDURAL!! they rock!!

  26. Wow this is so exciting! I’m sure you’re scared and excited all at the same time. I can’t believe that you blogged while you were in the hospital you’re a trooper! Good luck to you I hope everything goes ok. Can’t wait to see the baby’s little cute face :)

  27. Oh. my. gosh! I’m literally planning on taking my laptop with me downstairs while I work out to check updates on you. I cannot WAIT to see his face and to hear the name that you guys chose!

    =D God bless

  28. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!

  29. Oh my goodness gracious me!!!!!!! I’m so excited for you!!!

    I hope everything went perfect and you’re both doing well. Good luck!!!

  30. Oh my goodness!! Congrats & God bless you!!

  31. Ahhh I am SO excited for you!

  32. I’ve been following your blog your whole pregnancy (my husband and I have been ttc for two years) and it has been so fun to watch you guys go through the process. Can’t wait to see your little guy! Blessings!

  33. !!!!!!!!!!!!! amazing that you POSTED THIS!!! can’t wait for the unveiling of little piccolino . . . oh i love love LOVE newborns.

  34. I’ve been following you on this journey throughout your pregnancy and I am SO excited for you. I can’t wait to see your little one!

  35. So so excited for you guys!!! Can’t wait to hear the news. All the best to you!

  36. I’ve been checking back every hour today– I can’t wait to see your beautiful baby boy! Kate, you are such a strong woman and you are doing fantastic!!

  37. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  38. exciting post from the hospital!!!

  39. What great updates! I’m so glad to hear the epidural made things bearable. I am very pro epidural! lol

  40. wow – I am impressed that you made it to 6 before the epidural! I made it to 4 and said that I wanted it NOW. In all fairness to me, they told me I was an 8 and then came back and said “just kidding, you’re really a 4.” Regardless, I was glad to have the epidural!

Leave a Reply

