She Says… 33 Weeks

Piccolino,

You are big (Over 4 pounds! Over 17 inches long!). You are strong. Sometimes just the simple act of you rolling over takes my breath away. And when you actually kick? It’s shockingly powerful. I can’t help but rub my tummy like Buddha all day long. I love knowing you’re in there and we have our secret little routine of moving together in a strange kind of dance. I will miss having you all to myself once you arrive and I have to share you with friends and family (and Daddy!).

Your bones are hardening and your wrinkles are disappearing as you pack on the pounds and fill out. Your senses are continuing to improve, too – when light peeks in through the stretched skin on my belly, your tiny eyelids and irises blink and dilate. I wish I could get a sneak peek of what your little face will look like when you come out. It’s impossible to imagine what you’ll look like, and I can’t wait to find out in a few short weeks. 49 days, to be exact. “A few weeks” makes me feel like we have plenty of time to get everything done; “49 days” makes your arrival seem so imminent it makes me nervous that we haven’t painted your nursery or built your furniture or taken your baby gifts out of their boxes or washed all of your tiny clothes yet. This weekend we’re going to get some of those things done, but it’s a long, slow process. We just have so many other things to be doing too! I wish I could just stop the world and get prepared for you. But alas, life goes on. We still have to work, make dinners, walk the dog, find a tenant for our rental unit (done!), fix some things around the house, see friends, etc. etc. etc. It will all get done, I am sure. And if it doesn’t, I’m sure we really have everything we actually need for you already. Except diapers. We need to buy diapers.

I am (knock on wood) still feeling fantastic. I went to the gym this morning, although I am starting to get some funny looks like, “Why is that super pregnant woman on the elliptical?! How can she even stand up with that belly?!”. Everyone I see comments on how big I am. Well, not how big I am, exactly, but how big my baby bump is. Maybe it’s because I’m 5’1″, or because I tend to wear clothes that celebrate my basketball of a stomach rather than hide it in a tent of fabric, but I look bigger than a lot of other people at my stage of pregnancy. According to my OB I’m measuring one week larger than I actually am (last week I measured at 33 weeks when I was 31 and 5 days), but that is not abnormal. I kind of love it, though. Nothing like the special treatment you get when you’re quite obviously carrying around a little person!

49 days, little dude. Give or take a few, there are only 49 days until I see your little face. Wow. Where has the time gone? I love you more and more every single day. You really have no idea.

I love you even more than I did yesterday. And that was a lot.

Love,
Mama

8 responses to “She Says… 33 Weeks

  1. Did you guys have the 4D ultrasound done? I had it done with both of my kids at 28 weeks and it was amazing!

  2. Time really does fly (at least when I read your blog!). Congrats Kate! Enjoy the final weeks!! GL with all the prep in the final 49ish days. xo

  3. I can’t wait to see pictures of your little dude! Best wishes for a happy and heatlhy 49 days :)

  4. I can’t beleive you are at 33 weeks! It seems like just yesterday I found your blog (on the day you announced your pregnancy with that sweet video!)
    Congrats!

  5. 49 days!! OMG!!!!!

    Can’t wait for his arrival and official introduction!!

  6. I can’t believe you are 33 weeks already! I have been neglecting my blog lately…and all my reading on others’ blogs in the process…but I wanted to stop in and see how you were doing! It sounds like things are fantastic! Keep up the good work, Mama! :)

  7. Your little man is going to be making his appearance really soon!!! I can’t believe that we are nearing the finish line already. You look incredible and I love these sweet letters that you’ll be able to show your son one day.

  8. “Except diapers. We need to buy diapers.” You’ll be saying that for the next, oh, TWO years!

Leave a Reply

