Daily Archives: June 10, 2010

He Says… Four Years

Today is Kate’s and my four year wedding anniversary.  On the one hand it is hard to imagine how quickly it’s passed, but on the other hand I feel like we have done a lifetime of things together.  I was just looking back on the post I wrote a year ago, when we were in the midst of still trying to figure out how to conceive a child.  Amazing how much has changed in a year and we are now less than 2 months away from meeting our son that is (not so quietly) residing in Kate’s stomach.  Anyway she asked me to blog today and not make a cheesy, sappy post (like I often do) so I’ll keep all the lovey-dovey stuff brief.  Happy Anniversary, my darling; I love you more than words and can’t imagine going through this adventure with anyone else.

In other news, we have a big weekend ahead of us with a 2-day, 14-hour childbirth class.  To be honest, I can think of more fun things to do on a weekend so I am not entirely looking forward to it.  That said, I will try to be a good student and pay attention as I imagine there is some useful stuff for us to learn.  I do sort of feel like Kate reads up on so many things, baby and birth related, and since the birthing process relies more on her abilities than mine, that she (especially) will feel like the class is very redundant.  We’ll see.  Still it will be nice to have a weekend together to hang out, just the two of us (plus a bunch of other pregnant couples in our class).

Hopefully we can go get some of the painting supplies and possibly start priming the nursery this weekend.  I am starting to feel a little stressed about all we have to do before the big day.  We still need to paint and and assemble the nursery, buy a new car, do some fixes to our house that we said we’d do before the baby arrived, and I have a ton of work over the next 5 weeks.  I know we’ll get it done, but it is starting to feel like a lot.  I am optimistically hoping that once the baby arrives we’ll have a few weeks of more low-key time at home, just the three of us, when we only have one thing to focus on.  I know that will bring it’s own stresses with it, but I think it will be very enjoyable, none the less.

Anyway, Happy 4 Years, my honey!