She Says… 32 Weeks

Sweet Piccolino,

Every week that passes brings me giant leaps closer to the day I will get to see your face. I feel like time is passing so quickly and there is a part of me that wishes I could stop time and drink this experience in even more (yes, swollen feet and all!). In only 5 weeks, barely more than 1 month, you will be fully baked. After that you can come out at any time. I’m just going to throw out there that it would be super convenient if you could come out on or around July 28th. That’s one week before your due date (so I, fingers crossed, won’t hit that “get this baby out of me” stage, and you’ll be a whole month old by the time we have to fly to Kentucky for Aunt Ginger’s wedding the last weekend in August). How does that sound? Good? Good.

Little by little I am beginning to experience the uncomfortable parts of pregnancy that everyone assured me would come. I feel incredibly, incredibly lucky to have made it to 32 weeks with very little to complain about! The few hot days that we’ve had so far have introduced me to a new (and unfortunately completely unavoidable) symptom: swollen feet. And not just swollen feet, but full-on cankles. Yuck. Also, my body temperature is consistently about a million degrees warmer than it used to be. I used to complain about cold, clammy hands and I would freeze Benjamin at night with my icy feet. Now? Now I am always warm, and hot weather seems even hotter. Another thing I’ve been experiencing recently is bloody noses. Random, spontaneous bloody noses. The doc says that is due to increased blood flow, and the unfortunate placement of a blood vessel very close to the surface in my nose. Nothing to worry about, though. Since that is an issue that plagued me as a child, too, I’m not that bothered by them. Believe me, if the blood was coming out of anywhere else in my body, I’d be much more upset! Still, it is a little disconcerting to all of sudden have blood running down your face for no reason.

You are continuing to pack on the pounds, little one! You weigh over 4 pounds by now, and are probably nearing 17 inches. I imagine space is getting a little tight in there. In fact, I can tell that space is getting very tight… your arms and legs and little butt are often pushed right up against the surface of my stomach now, and I can feel the sharp points of your bones. My clothes move when you roll around in there, and a few of your kicks and dance moves have literally taken my breath away. At my doctor’s appointment this week my OB confirmed that you are still head down (though I would have sworn you had completely flip-flopped since my last visit). You are perfect, my little pumpkin. Perfect weight, perfect measurements and perfect vitals.

Keep it up for a few more weeks so Daddy and I can get ready for you, and then we can’t wait to meet you!

We love you more than you can possibly imagine. You make us complete, and we haven’t even met you yet.

All the love in my heart,
Mama

4 responses to “She Says… 32 Weeks

  1. Happy 32 weeks!

  2. The word “cankles” makes me laugh out loud. Cankles themselves are not so funny, especially when they are your own, but what a great word. :)
    They’ll be gone soon! One of the wonderful things about pregnancy symptoms is that the majority of them disappear the second you pop out the precious little one.

  3. Your letter makes me excited about getting to hold these babies of ours soon!!! It’s really right around the corner. Sorry to hear about the cankles, but I’m happy that you’ve made it this far without much to complain about. Happy 32 weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

