She Says… 29 Weeks

My little man,

29 weeks down, 11 more to go! Well, only 8 more until you’re fully cooked. I just can’t really wrap my brain around that. I mean, I guess I realized that this whole “pregnancy” thing was working towards a goal of actually producing a screaming, smiling, pooping, wriggling little baby… but I just can’t imagine how much my life is about to change once you exist outside of my stomach. The countdown has begun; we’re in the home stretch.

I’m writing to you from a hotel in New York City. I’m on my LAST trip for work until you arrive. I’ll be glad to turn in my travelin’ shoes for more time at home. This time Daddy’s and my travels aligned! He is also working in the New York/Connecticut area and we’ll meet up tomorrow and get to spend the night in my hotel together. And then it’s off to New Jersey for the weekend for his cousin Jen’s wedding. I’m not sure what Jen is to you, exactly. 2nd cousin? Anyway, I’ll get to see your Aunt Lisa and lots of family members who haven’t seen my bulging baby belly yet, which will be a lot of fun.

It’s undeniable now… my baby bump is BIG. Even some of my maternity shirts are getting snug. How much bigger are you going to get? Sometimes I feel as though my skin might just tear right down the middle of my stomach, it is stretched so thin. I still marvel every day at how my body has changed to grow you. With 11 weeks to go, I know I have a LOT of growing left to do, so I can’t wait to see what I¬†look like at the end.

This week you are a little over 15 inches long (about the length of a loaf of bread) and weigh about 3 pounds. Your brain can now control your breathing and body temperature. You can also cough, and your sucking abilities have been perfected. Your skin is looking less wrinkled as you pack on the pounds. Also, you have become a little Energizer Bunny in my belly these days! I feel you about 75% of the day (and night) movin’ and shakin’ in there. You certainly are an active little guy. Generally I don’t mind, although something has been causing me a stabbing sort of pain underneath my right rib, and it’s kind of uncomfortable. Any chance you can move around a bit and spread the wealth?

I am beginning to feel a little bit of that 1st trimester exhaustion coming back. My knees and ankles are tired of holding up my extra weight, and by the end of the day I just need to put my feet up. I think it’s going to be a LONG, HOT summer for you and I, little buddy.

Time for bed for this pregnant lady. I love you, my sweet Piccolino. Sweet dreams.

Love,
Mama

5 responses to “She Says… 29 Weeks

  1. Your letters make me tear up because they are so sweet. I’m also feeling like my belly is going to split right down the center from all of the stretching! Your belly pics are great- you look so pretty!!!

  2. I can tell as well that carrying this extra weight on my 5’2 frame is getting weird and sort of umcomfortable! Time is flying by for us Kate!

  3. Time really is flying! My first experience with your blog was that amazing video where you discovered you were pregnant…it seems like only yesterday! Congrats and take it easy :)

  4. If Jen is Ben’s first cousin, that makes Piccolino her first cousin once removed. If Jen ever has kids, then Piccolino and her kids would be second cousins.

  5. Time does seem to be flying by (for you, haha!). Congrats! :)

Leave a Reply

