She Says… Pulling the Trigger

As most of you know, I am a ridiculously organized person. I have lists for my lists and documents upon documents on my computer with ideas. Ideas for the nursery, ideas for which stroller we want, ideas for crafty projects I want to do before the baby arrives. These plans extend to other areas of my life as well — I have recipes flagged to make, lists of restaurant to try, ongoing grocery store/Target lists, ideas for projects we’d like to do to our house, and on and on. But what I’ve realized recently is that the lists of baby stuff, although super organized, are no longer doing any good as just ideas. I actually have to make a decision and BUY THINGS. I’m 6 1/2 months along… it’s time.

So after months of research and lots of lists, I’ve decided on and ordered two big things off of my neverending lists.

The Stroller

I looked at and compared a lot of strollers. I debated a lot of features, and stalked a lot of moms in downtown Boston to see which ones were the most popular. After awhile, all signs pointed to ONE STROLLER. At least for me, it’s perfect. I am in love.

The UppaBaby Vista 2010. Comes with an interchangeable bassinet top and an upright seat that can face forward or backward. Folds up easily into a surpirisingly small package for traveling/storing. This 2010 edition has three levels of seat reclining in addition to fully upright (the previous versions never sat totally upright). The wheels are smooth, foam rubber, so you never have to worry about getting a flat tire. The storage basket underneath is roomy and easy to access, and the handlebar is adjustable for your preferred height. Sit n’ stand platform is available for (someday?) when we have more than one kid to push around. And the wheels lock with one click of a pedal brake. Pure baby luxury. I can’t WAIT until it arrives. A HUGE thank you to my mom for this awesome gift!

The Crib/Changing Table

I cannot believe how expensive some cribs are. I had no idea how much they cost before I started looking into buying one. Also, quite often they are HUGE and traditionally designed and do not fit into the current design of our house (modern but comfortable, more Ikea than Pottery Barn). I am also very interested in the safety of the crib, since my innocent little babe will be sleeping in it every night. That includes construction, like finding a solid wood crib that does not offgas or emit formaldehyde from adhesives or veneers. So finding a crib that fit my budget, design sense and safety criteria was very, very difficult. I was just about ready to pull the trigger on the cheap-but-modern-and-very-highly-rated-in-safety Ikea Gulliver crib ($100) when I came across something even better.

I’ll be honest, I’m not a big Walmart shopper. I prefer Target for similar items, and Walmart sometimes seems… well… a bit too cheap. But amidst the cheap stuff, I found a fantastic buy!

The Baby Mod Olivia 3-in-1 Crib. It is solid wood, has four height options for the mattress, and converts into a toddler bed. Not to mention it is SUPER CUTE with its clean, modern lines and costs under $300.

 Baby Mod - ParkLane 3-Drawer Changer, Amber and White

To match but not be matchy-matchy, I chose the Baby Mod ParkLane Changing Table. There is actually an “Olivia” changing table that matches the crib exactly, but I preferred the design of the ParkLane (and, conveniently, it used the same combo of amber and white pine). As part of the bedding set I designed, I am getting a green and white polka dot changing pad cover, which I think will look adorable with the two-tone furniture. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Laurie and Neale (one set of Benjamin’s parents) for giving this wonderful gift to little Piccolino!

Can’t wait to see it all together in the nursery! Pulling the trigger is fun, but there is a slight twinge of sadness that the planning and dreaming stage is coming to an end.

11 responses to “She Says… Pulling the Trigger

  1. Love your choices!!! I can’t wait to use our Uppa Baby :) The storage basket was a huge deciding factor for me since I tend to schlep so much stuff!!!

  2. You are so lucky to have family members pitching in for the big ticket items! Beautiful choices!! Did you get the car seat or a different one all together?

  3. I’ve been researching strollers since we’re due with #2 in October and this one looks fabulous! We won’t buy one until the spring since I’ll baby wear while October babe is teeny, but this look fabulous for next spring and those long walks we’ll be doing.

  4. I love your picks! Seem like great choices to me. I haven’t done anything at all yet, so maybe you’ll help me get motivated!

  5. I love them Kate!!!!!

  6. I just wanted to say I LOVE that stroller. Almost makes me want to have another baby just to get that! But Ill have to stick to my 4 kids. My aunt (shes only a few years older than me) had one for her daughter and it was the coolest thing EVER. It didn’t feel like I was pushing anything. Good taste!!

  7. I’m slightly jealous over the stroller- it looks amazing! We too bought a highly-rated crib from Walmart for around $225 and have been very pleased with it. I like the style you picked and can’t wait to see the finished room!

  8. We also got the Olivia crib for our soon-to-arrive (one week!) baby boy and are very happy with it and how it looks in our nursery! I will however forewarn you that we got the Olivia dresser and the stain on the bases does not match 100% between the two, even with them being from the same “set.” It’s not enough to bother me, and my husband doesn’t notice it at all, but just be prepared that the coloring might not match completely. Best of luck with everything, I really enjoy your blog :)

  9. That furniture is actually really cute! Totally unexpected from Wally-world :)

  10. Maybe my kids are older BUT we were a financially struggling couple expecting our first baby and we used a hand-me down crib (nothing happened to the kids so don’t email me telling I shouldn’t have done it.), the changing table was our bed and was for all 3 kids. The stroller was a gift from my mom. We had no bouncy seat, sling, swing, etc and my kids turned out alright. You really don’t need all that stuff and you will find this out AFTER the baby comes.

    My 2 cents worth
    Kelly

  11. Hi there – I really like your blog and wish I’d done something similar for my pregnancy (going on now) – I also got the Olivia crib and I totally love it!! We got the matching dresser and as soon as we opened it we could smell the formaldehyde – any thoughts on the parklane one ? Did it smell? And did you end up off-gassing it? We’re very confused abbey what to do about the olivia dresser and would love to hear your thoughts on the Baby Mod dresser.

    Thanks and good luck :)

Leave a Reply

