Daily Archives: April 27, 2010

She Says… Finally home and gestational diabetes test

The whirlwind wedding weekend is over and I’m finally, FINALLY home for awhile with no trips planned. I can’t say the same for Benjamin, but at least he’s around for the next few days, so I can’t complain! The wedding was beautiful, and I was so happy to be able to be there in person (rather than stuck in Munich still!). The dress I borrowed worked out great, and I even got to meet a few blog readers :) Pictures of Munich and the wedding outfits to come soon… I promise.

Thank you all for your suggestions on how to make the pink dress work. I will definitely take it to a tailor to see what they can do with it, although it isn’t looking very likely since I can’t see extra fabric in the seams and the pink chiffon may be very hard to match with a zipper or insert. But we’ll see.

Never a dull moment, as they say. We just got home last night and tomorrow I have a big day at the OB’s office: my glucose tolerance test. Actually, I think the test I’m doing tomorrow is just a glucose screening, not technically the tolerance test (which takes several more hours and several more blood draws). Tomorrow I will head to the lab before my appointment and get a supposedly sickeningly sweet orange soda drink. I’ll drink that down and head to my normal monthly appointment to kill 20-30 minutes. Then go back to the lab to have blood taken one hour after I finish the drink. I think the deal is that if my glucose level comes back high at this first screening, they schedule me for the tolerance test as a follow-up test. In that test you drink an even sweeter drink, and get blood drawn at 1, 2 and 3 hours. Yuck! I’m really hoping that the screening goes smoothly and my numbers are low enough that I don’t have to take the 2nd test.

At my last appointment, my OB told me to eat breakfast the morning of the glucose test (my appointment is at noon), but to avoid very sugary foods like pancakes or donuts. But then in doing some quick Googling this morning, I read that many doctors advise fasting prior to the test (even the 1-hour one, like I am doing tomorrow) to avoid false positives. Some even recommend eliminating sugar and simple carbohydrates for 2 days leading up to the test! Apparently many women get falsely high readings at the screening, and then go on to have perfectly normal results from the 3-hour test.

So now I’m a little confused… and a little nervous about my results tomorrow. I was traveling all weekend (driving to Baltimore and back), and had my fair share of wedding cake (with marshmallow fluff frosting), and some delicious desserts while enjoying the company of my family I rarely see. Not to mention less-than-stellar lunches while driving (I even had McDonald’s for the first time in something like 3 years). And prior to the Baltimore trip, I was stuck in Munich eating what I could recognize, which turned out to be a lot of pretzels and probably-not-whole-grain-breads. In the grand scheme of things I know these little changes in my diet will not make a difference. I still eat incredibly healthily and am very conscious of what I put in my mouth. However, the timing is not so good for my test tomorrow!

Thoughts on if these little changes in my diet will affect my results? Did you fast before the glucose test?