Daily Archives: January 11, 2010

He Says… Am I ready?

Last night we had some friends over for dinner.  They brought their adorable 10 week old son over with them.  We have seen them a few times since they had him, and from what I can tell he is a pretty perfect baby.  Doesn’t fuss too much, hardly any crying and totally adorable.  (They assured me that he is a little more work than what we are seeing, but he is a great baby.)  We had a lovely time with them, and I got to play with the baby and our dog Schnitzel gave him lots of kisses.  I kept looking at him, though, and thinking, am I REALLY ready to have one of these of my own?  It was really just last week, when I saw in the ultrasound an image inside Kate’s belly that somewhat resembled a human (or a gummy bear), that it started to feel like we are actually having a child.  But playing with our friends’ baby, I couldn’t help but think how I would appreciate the peace and quiet I would get after they left and took their little bundle of joy with them.  No waking up at night to feed or change a diaper like they’ve described.  No crying.  I could just get into my own bed and sleep soundly all night.

I think I was partly feeling this way because I had a lovely and uncommon weekend of being an utter couch potato.  I saw 2 movies in the theater and watched 3 movies at home.  I don’t think I’ve done that in years, and if felt perfect and relaxing and just what I needed.  I realize that after we have a baby, that luxury may not occur again, until, well… our child leaves for college maybe.

Now I realize there is more to life than watching bad movies on tv.  And I certainly am completely excited about the prospect of becoming a dad, but everytime we visit with friends who have babies, I always have this feeling that I am glad to not be in their shoes yet.  I was talking about this a little at dinner last night and my friend said that he felt the same way before their son was born, and it was different for him once they had their own.  I imagine that is true.  I know that I find newborns to often look like strange little aliens, but many have assured me that once it is my own, I will feel differently.

And I know I WILL feel differently.  I think it’s just a little pre-baby jitters, which I assume are quite common.  Right?