She Says… Google Away

One thing I Googled incessantly (oh, who are we kidding, what didn’t I Google incessantly?!) over the last 9 months of trying to concieve is the earliest pregnancy symptoms and when they show up. Obviously this is a futile search, because every woman’s body is completely different, but somehow it put my mind at ease to read about what other people felt, and imagine that I might be feeling that too. Hey, it never hurts to keep hope alive, right? So here is a list of the earliest pregnancy symptoms I experienced and about when I experienced them (in no particular order):

  • Excessive thirst. Right around ovulation time I remember feeling constantly parched. And it never really let up since then. I’ve started downing TWO big Nalgene bottles of water every day at work, where I used to just drink one. And now I’m drinking another few glasses at night and taking one to set on my nightstand if I wake up thirsty in the middle of the night. Wow. I’ve never needed this much water before.
  • Tender ta-tas. I really thought I’d get out of this common pregnancy symptom since I’ve never really had breast pain (waaaay back when I used to get my period, that is). Not to mention the fact that my boobs are relatively… ermmm… small, so I didn’t really think there was much there to cause pain. But boy, was I wrong. My nipples started to feel tingly around 10 days past ovulation (dpo). Not painful, just sort of weird and sensitive. By 14dpo, that tingliness had given way to soreness and itchiness. Like they were bruised and I have bug bites. Since then it’s been a little uncomfortable to sleep since they are so sensitive.
  • Nagging, tense feeling in lower abdomen. This probably started around 11 dpo. It was not exactly a cramping feeling like I used to get with my period (although I didn’t really get bad cramps from my period, at least I have that to thank you for, birth control!), but more of a tugging or localized soreness. Now that I know that I’m pregnant, I know that is my uterus stretching (yes, already, isn’t that amazing?!). I guess prior to getting the positive pregnancy test, one can never be sure if their cramps are period-related or pregnancy-related, but this time I got lucky! I still feel this every once in awhile; it’s one of the only ways I can detect that I’m still pregnant!
  • Insomnia. Yep, some women get fatigued, and others just CAN’T sleep at all. Guess which camp I fell into? I’m generally a very good sleeper. I go to bed early, sleep all the way through the night, and can usually fall right back to sleep if I have to get up to pee or if I’m woken up for some reason. But starting about 9 or 10 dpo, I would wake up every morning at around 3:30am and could not go back to sleep. Not if my life depended on it. Now, I’m not sure if this was a result of being subconsciously anxious about the upcoming pregnancy test, but either way, it was pregnancy-related! The last few nights I have been able to sleep until about 5:30am, so it’s getting better.
  • Increased body temperature. As anyone who charts their temperature knows, your body temperature raises after ovulation, and usually dips back down once you start your period. I had been charting my temps for about 5 months before this past cycle, and in all that time I’ve never seen a distinct rise. I had crazy little peaks and valleys all the time — no rhyme or reason to the erratic pattern. But then this cycle my temp rose steadily following ovulation, higher than ever before. And it kept rising. And it stayed high. And it still hasn’t gone down! So for all you PCOSers like myself who see no method to the madness of your cycles… have faith! If/when you actually ovulate, you WILL see a distinct change. And it’s pretty amazing.
  • Fullness/bloating. This, unfortunately, is a symptom that I have had since I ovulated (for the first time… maybe ever) back in mid-November. When I ovulated, my stomach was totally bloated from the two big ass follicles I pushed through my fallopian tubes. If you were reading back then, you probably remember there were a few days when I had a bit of pain and I even had to unbutton my pants while sitting at my computer in my cubicle. But it didn’t really go away after that… the full feeling continued. Around 8-9 dpo I would feel stuffed after I ate even a few bites of food (which is VERY unlike me :) ). By 14 dpo my stomach was puffed out like I was already pregnant! I feel like I’m “showing” already, even though the baby is no bigger than a poppyseed. Yesterday at the gym, Benjamin said to me, “You’re sticking out your stomach like you’re pregnant.” And I said, “I’m NOT sticking out my stomach. But thanks a lot”. Ha! Bloating sucks. But I must say, I’m pretty psyched about the pseudo baby bump I’ve got going on now that I know it’s “real”!
  • Heightened sense of smell. I read in “What to Expect” that this is nature’s way of making you avoid foods that might be harmful to the developing baby, as most women experience super smells that are offensive or gag-inducing. I think my sniffer has been in overdrive for all smells, though, because I was in sensory heaven cooking all day for Thanksgiving, and I keep smelling freshly baked cookies or cake at random times (that no one else can smell). It’s not so bad to smell cake all the time! But from what I’ve heard, this side-effect can quickly turn against me if/when morning sickness kicks in and all I can smell is gross things.
  • Constipation. Oh, the lovelist topic. Not much to say here, except that I generally have this issue, so it took me awhile to realize this as a symptom of pregnancy. Although I didn’t think it was humanly possible, IT HAS GOTTEN SO MUCH WORSE. ‘Nuff said. Friends and family, aren’t you so glad you know about the blog now?

So, I hope that helps someone out there! Tomorrow I am officially 5 weeks, so most of the heavy duty symptoms (ahem, morning sickness, ahem) haven’t kicked in yet. “What to Expect” tells me I can expect that around week 6 or 7. Something to look forward to, no?

18 responses to “She Says… Google Away

  1. Taryn M. Peine

    Thanks for the run-down! It’s nice to see what someone who is actually pregnant is experiencing. These are super easy to imagine…I do it every single month. ;-)

  2. I feel ya on the bloat! It is not fun. But so worth it!
    The smell thing. I am finding random things churn my stomach and I can smell fried foods a mile away. I don’t eat fried foods!
    YAY symptoms!

  3. Yay for symptoms! I hope you don’t get morning sickness too bad.

    I hope I’ll be comparing my symptoms to these in a month or so. :-)

  4. You read my mind!! I know you were in your Zen place and floating instead of Googling a couple weeks ago, but I really wanted a retrospective account of those symptoms!! I want to bookmark this post for my 2WW. Because god willing, I WILL have one in a few weeks. :) Awesome stuff.

  5. Check, check and check. I’m 16 weeks on Thursday and have/am experiencing all of the above!! This is my second pregnancy and my symptoms are totally different this time around.

  6. It’s so exciting to read all of the changes that are happening for you right now. CAN’T WAIT FOR THE ULTRASOUND!!

    BTW, the pic of you with the turkey in the post below is quite adorable. :)

  7. Oh, the smells. Just wait until your husband’s morning breath makes you want to hurl. I had to make mine brush his teeth an extra time before bed and promise to sleep facing away from me for about2 weeks :)

    Enjoy your pseudo baby bump, I’m at 16 wks tomorrow and I’m still not showing enough that anyone comments on it :)

  8. Taryn, Ha! True, nothing earth-shattering or even exclusively pregnancy-related yet! I guess I should be relieved that I’m not doubled over the toilet, but it’s a little disconcerting to not feel THAT different, yet have a BABY growing in my stomach!

    Courtney F, Uh oh, girl. It sounds like you may have some morning (afternoon/night) sickness coming your way! I hope those yucky smells and nausea stay at bay so you can ENJOY this time. Are you feeling anything else going on? I can’t believe we’re at exactly the same point in our pregnancies, almost to the day!

    Al, Thanks! Me either. Although, as I’ve said, any sort of daily reminder that I’m still pregnant would be welcome at this point. Can’t wait to compare symptoms with you sooooooon!

    suchagoodegg, I WAS very Zen and non-Googling. I definitely think that helped… although the baby inside me had no idea if I was Googling or not, so who knows if that had any impact :) The disappointing thing about pregnancy symptoms (mine, at least) is that they are SO non-conclusive and could be a normal (albeit bloated or constipated) day. Really no dead giveaways. Whatevs, those beta numbers say I’m pregnant, so I say I’m pregnant!

    Jen, How interesting! You’d think your body would just do the same as it did last time. My sister is pregnant with her second (yay! sisters pregnant at the same time!) and she has been sick, sick, sick this whole pregnancy. Last time, barely sick at all! So I guess they are completely separate from each other. Congrats on 16 weeks!

    Stef, Thanks, you are too kind! It was a BIG bird, but it means you can see my biceps bulging. Ha! I am so excited to share everything with the blog. I already told Benjamin he needs to get that video camera ready for our first ultrasound on December 14th! I just don’t know if I can wait until then. Ahhhhh!

    Kara, Oh no! That sounds awful (the morning breath). Maybe Benjamin will have to switch places with Schnitzel, our dog. Although I guess the dog’s breath probably isn’t any more pleasant :) I can’t imagine I’ll ever know what it feels like to be 16 weeks and still not showing… I put on weight SO easily and I think my body’s already changing. I have a coworker who is the same as you, though — 16 weeks and still running 6 miles a day. You’d never know she was pregnant! Impressive.

  9. I hear you on the constipation! :-) I really didn’t need any “help” in that dept either! I am sucking down decaf coffee and prunes every morning! hehe

  10. I never really had morning sickness I just felt off in my tummy every day for months, smells was my killer pumping gas would make feel like vomiting, and cooking red meat blah gross. I had the sweet cravings with my daughter and salty cravings with my son funny how each time it was different. But I would never trade the experience for anything in the world.

  11. I hear ya on a lot of this! I’ll tell ya, my morning sickness started like 12 DPO. It was insane. It wasn’t terrible (I didn’t actually get sick that often) I just felt nauseated a lot. And then we went to Nicaragua on a mission trip that we’d had scheduled when I was 7 weeks pregnant. OMG, what an experience. My SUPER heightened sense of smell did NOT enjoy the 3rd world country. I’d been before (hence why I was comfortable going again) but I wasn’t prepared for it this time. We were in rural areas some days with no running water, which meant outhouses which meant I seriously held it ALL DAY. I couldn’t do it. When I came home I didn’t want to smell outhouses, chickens, cows, pigs, bus exhaust, or any city smells every again. It was a great trip, besides feeling oh so green much of the time! :)

    It’s quite a ride, let me tell you! Wait until all the extra body fluids kick in…that’s one I wasn’t prepared for!

  12. My version of ‘morning sickness’ with this pregnancy was limited to 4 or 5 vomitting episodes that happened AT NIGHT?!?! Also during the first and part of the second trimester I suffered from MAJOR food aversions, so much so that I did not gain a single pound until my 20th week of pregnancy.

  13. My friend who is 27 weeks pregnant said that Preggie Pops are awesome for morning sickness.

    I will probably start Clomid in February if AF doesn’t show on it’s own…March will be 1 year since AF came on it’s own :(

  14. Thanks for sharing – I’ve definitely done HOURS worth of googling of early pregnancy symptoms. It’s nice to have something from a reliable source :)

  15. Don’t be alarmed if the cramping gets worse — I thought so many times that something was seriously wrong when it was just my uterus stretching. The cramping went away around 10 weeks, I think.

  16. I found that Fiber Choice chewable fiber pills helped a ton with the constipation :)

  17. Thanks for the tips. If things work out for me w my first round of clomid I will need your guidance! Hope your symptoms stay mild and I hope the clomid doesn’t make me crazy as I’ve heard it can make some women. Happy December. :)

  18. Jen, Ha! Oh Lord, I second the motion. Good call on the prunes!

    Janette, Oooh, yes, I can see how pumping gas would be overwhelming if the smell thing increases. I am kind of excited for cravings (if I get them)! Benjamin has joked that he hopes I allow myself to eat whatever I want while pregnant, since usually I am an incredibly careful and healthy eater.

    Beth, You are one bold woman! Benjamin and I are taking a short vacation to Jamaica over New Years and I’m a little nervous about how I’ll be feeling. That’s nothing compared to Nicaragua!

    Brandi, Ugh, that sounds difficult. Although, less weight gained probably means an easier time getting back to “normal” after the baby was born?

    Cate, Well hopefully I won’t need them :) but I will check out Preggie Pops. Good luck if you do have to start Clomid. It’s a miracle drug, I tell you! And at least for me, there were minimal side effects and my body responded incredibly well to it. So don’t feel too disappointed if you do end up needing it. The end result will be well worth it.

    APlusB, Of course! I can’t wait until I have some “real” symptoms to share. But you guys will be the second to know when I do! You can see all the good, bad and the ugly right here. Like a sneak preview.

    Alison, Hmmm, good to know! The tugging is a weird feeling, but I guess I’d better get used to it… I imagine it’s even rougher when there’s a few pound baby in there rolling around.

    Nico, Thanks for the recommendation! The weird part is that, since I have this issue regularly, I have adjusted my diet to be fiberrific. Almost everything I put in my mouth is a whole grain or a vegetable! But still, the issue remains. Sigh.
    Jennyh, Happy to share. Of course since everyone’s experience is so different, it may not help at all, but I think it’s interesting to see how different people felt throughout their pregnancies. Good luck with the Clomid! I didn’t have any of the “Clomid Crazies”. I took the pills at night so I didn’t have weird side effects, and felt just fine. The only thing different for me was a little bit of bloating, which, as you can see, was probably less related to the Clomid and more related to the fact that my body didn’t know how to ovulate on its own.

Leave a Reply

