She Says… Plan B

The nurse from Boston IVF just called with my blood test results from this morning. She says that I’m not pregnant (umm, duh!), and that my progesterone level was very low, which indicates that I didn’t actually ovulate this cycle.

Wait just one hot minute. I didn’t actually ovulate?! What about this positive OPK? And the mittelschmerz? Apparently it’s possible to get thisclose to ovulating, but then not actually release an egg. That would explain my one day of temp spike, and then a return to slightly elevated temps, but well within my normal range. And even the mini period – my body kinda sorta almost thought that it ovulated, so it went through the process of a mini period. Albeit too early and too light, but it was something. It even explains the false positive on the OPK… I guess if my LH surge was almost enough to release an egg, it was enough to show up on the pee stick, too. But, alas, not enough to actually shoot an egg out. Bummer.

So, that was the practice round, right? That means that this time, I’m going to actually release an egg, and it will actually meet up with all the little spermies we’ve been pouring in there, and we’re going to make a baby. Do you hear me, eggs? WE ARE GOING TO MAKE A BABY!

Plan for this cycle:

  • Double up the Clomid to 100mg
  • Do a follow-up progesterone test 7 days past ovulation to make sure that I actually released an egg

Hey, for all the time and effort we’ve put in, why don’t you just release two and I’ll get those twins I’ve always dreamed of? Just a suggestion.

19 responses to “She Says… Plan B

  1. Hang in there and keep us posted!

  2. Glad you have such a postive way at looking at it, we should all be thankful that we have so many more choices and options then say 10 years ago. Its a new month and another chance of making a life, twins really you are a glutton for punishment hehehe, good luck for the new month.

  3. It’s so amazing how many things have to go just right. I’m psyched you pinpointed the issue…and I hope you can start the new dose of Clomid ASAP! It’s great you have such an excellent team actively working on this!!

  4. Kate, I randomly checked in on you – to see the results of your blood test – I had the sneaking suspicion that you had the same issue that I had (not a full egg/full ovulation)

    YAY that you found out so quickly – I promise once they get the concotion – it is smooth sailing!!! You are so incredibly blessed to have such responsive doctors and nurses (you begin to love them dearly when they bring you answers)!

    Let me just tell you – the line – will in fact be dramatically darker with 100mg :)

    Good luck and let’s go with double pinks this month :)

  5. Those damn eggs. I don’t know why our bodies want to hold on to those little gems. Its like our eggs are teasing the little persistent spermies. DEAR EGGS, WE WANT THEM TO FERTILIZE YOU.

  6. AH! Ok, round two DING DING! I’m cheering for you!

  7. Ugh, that’s so frustrating to hear! I hope this month equals a real ovulation so you can be on your way to feeling pukey and sleepy in no time! :)

  8. Great attitude! Stupid egg-hoarding ovaries. :) I’m so glad that you are getting answers though…I would feel so much more in control knowing that steps are being taken to address the issues. Stupid issues! Good luck.

  9. Hi Kate, I was just wondering about your exercise. Since you know you are not pg, are you back to regular exercise? Or is it easy to just not do it now? I am still struggling with this!

  10. At least you know why you didn’t get pregnant last month! I hope thi will do it for you :)

  11. Way to stay positive! Hopefully upping the Clomid will work!

    Keep us posted!

  12. Man, the roller coaster continues! I’m glad that there’s enough medical science to give you answers about what’s going on, though. I’m keeping all my digits crossed.

  13. Erin, Thank you! We’re doing fine and hopefully we’ll have good news to share in a few [long, excruciating] weeks!

    Janette, That is such a great point about how lucky we are. If there ever was a time to struggle with infertility, it is definitely now. We have SO MANY different ways to expand our family. Perhaps that’s why I’m so positive about it — I know we will have babies in our lives one way or another.

    LizardRuns, I know, I am so happy just to have a conclusive answer about what happened last month and a solid plan for next month. I’m very impressed and pleased with the doc’s decision to increase my Clomid. I thought he’d make me wait another month just to be sure I didn’t ovulate, blah blah. But he seems very on-the-ball and I’ve been supportive of his decisions every step of the way.

    Joanna, Thank you so much for sharing all of your experiences! I SO hope that my story ends up like yours. I really feel confident that this concoction is a huge step in the right direction. Once I get ovulating, it’s just a matter of time before we actually make a baby successfully. CAN’T. WAIT.

    Courtney, I know! I’m such a control freak, I’m surprised I haven’t figured out a way to open up the door and reprimand them :) Hopefully this 100mg of Clomid will teach them a lesson.

    Nikol, That’s right! Round two starts… now! Well, it starts when I get my meds. But I’m ready! And excited!

    Kara, Thank you, I hope so too! (Man, I’ve never wished so much sickness and blood on myself as I have in the last few months. I’ve been praying to throw up! Let’s just hope it happens for the right reasons, mmmkay?)

    Karen, I know, I’m so happy that the doc is taking good care of me. I feel very fortunate to have caught all of these issues on the first few cycles! I know many people wait a lot longer before even approaching an RE, so I’m doing the best I can.

    Tracy, During the two week wait I definitely slacked off a little bit. Call it slacking, call it allowing myself a little wiggle room, call it listening to my body — I just didn’t feel right doing high impact cardio and allowing my heart rate to skyrocket. I kept doing yoga and walking, though. Since I found out I wasn’t pregnant, I’ve hit the gym hard a few times, but I’m still trying to find that balance between working myself too hard and not working hard enough. So I’m still exercising, but I’m also learning to take it easy, even if I had a workout planned. It’s been nice to be kind to my body, and I’m LOVING all the yoga. It’s fabulous and I feel great, even on days that I can’t work out.

    Amy, Yes! I will blame it entirely on the ovulation and will still shoot for being one of those lucky women who get preggo the first time they try. I hope our first time to try will be in a few weeks! Gosh, that feels weird to say since our journey seems like it’s been long so far. But I won’t be complaining one bit if I get my positive soon.

    thebakerbee, Thank you! I definitely will, every step of the way. I am very optimistic about the increase in Clomid. I was so close this time, next time it seems like it should certainly happen. But we’ll see…

    Lisa, I know, I wasn’t expecting this twist in the story. But you’re totally right — I am constantly amazed by the advancements they’ve made in reproductive medicine, and I’m so fortunate to be able to get such fabulous care.

  14. Did I hear someone say twins? Wait a hot, darn second!

  15. oh geez. just when you think you can totally trust those test results! and that a positive is a positive.

    at least the answer is clear and has an easy fix! that’s something. second time’s a charm.

  16. Kate- I love your blog! I just read through the whole thing and wishing you lots of luck! We had some luck with Clomid and are now 14 weeks along.

    Sorry about the ovulation (and isn’t it funny how topics such as ovulation and periods get to be just regular conversations starter?) but I am sure a practice round is just what you needed! :)

  17. haya, I know, bummer, huh? You are right, though. I’m so glad that the doctor changed our plan for next month as a result of recent events. He is so responsive and these little tweaks are BOUND to get us a positive someday soon.

    Elaine, Thank you! I’m so happy to hear that you had success on Clomid. So many women do, I am still very optimistic. It IS funny how nonchalant I’ve become about discussing very personal stuff like periods and ovulation. This blog has certainly opened me up :)

  18. Kate – I just got a low progesterone reading as well after my first Clomid cycle and will be starting 100 mg this weekend. Hopefully it will do the trick for us both!
    I have to go in for an ultrasound first, to check for cysts. Is your doctor having you do that as well?

  19. APlusB, We are totally on the same schedule. Alright, for next cycle, let’s both get BFP’s. K? K. My doc has not ordered ultrasounds first, but I think that may be because I got a vaginal ultrasound done in my first round of tests with him, and he didn’t see any cysts. Not sure if that’s still a concern, though. I hope yours goes well and that you can start the 100mg of Clomid soon!

Leave a Reply

