She Says… It’s Official

I’m not pregnant.

What a roller coaster ride this is.

29 responses to “She Says… It’s Official

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the negative blood test. But it’s great news that you got a positive on the OPK. I hope that you will start your period soon (unless that was it a few days ago?) and begin regular cycles.

    Here’s to Benjamin for another month of trying and a quick prayer for Kate that it’s only another month of trying. :)

  2. I’m so sorry for your negative beta test. It must be a big let down after all those signs. It is a major feat that your are ovulating. If that keeps up, you’ll probably be pregnant in no time! I know that is little consolation now, but I hope it makes you feel better at some point.

  3. So frustrating. I’m sorry to hear this news. I can relate to how you are probably feeling. It’s just so frustrating when you want something so bad and you do everything right and it just doesn’t work out. Grr. But on the bright side step one is ovulation and that was successful this month, right?! Ovulation success this month, baby success next month!!

    (Thanks for your reply about the temps…I’m not convinced that I will have this big temp jump either so I’m glad that I am doubling up with the OPK.)

  4. Aw, bummer! The waiting game is so crappy. I hope next month is your month…hang in there!

  5. I’m so sorry! I left you an award on my blog…I hope it cheers you up!

  6. I’m so sorry! Hugs to you both!

  7. I’m so sorry, honey. I hurt for you, and with you. I just love the visual post, you are so creative. I was with you on the signs, I really thought this was your time.

    Here’s to the next time for both of us!
    ***hugs***

  8. Kate~ I’m sorry girl! Keep your chin up, on to next month!

  9. Aw, I’m really sorry, guys. I was hoping so much that you could be off the roller coaster and on to the next step. Lots of hugs.

  10. Bummer! Practice makes perfect! :)

  11. Sucky. I feel the pain through the screen. Hang in there. You are ovulating now–which is awesome– and it’s def going to happen.

  12. Sorry to hear that, but just remember that you get to keep trying! It is totally normal to take a few months, and you will pregnant when you are supposed to get pregnant!

    Best of luck ;)

  13. I’m sorry! Hang in there!

  14. Dang! I really thought you might be since you said you were really thirsty (my first two indicators of being pregnant were thirst and gas, lots of gas). Next month!

  15. augh!! that sucks. sorry.
    try try again.

    do you know if you will have to take clomid again?

  16. I’m sorry you got a bfn. Here’s to next month. It really is a roller coaster. Take a few days to get over it and then when your ready move on.

  17. I was so hoping you were pregnant! I know it’s so hard to be patient but it will happen. This is really just the first month your body is starting to get into the groove with the clomid.

  18. Sam, Thanks. Yes, now we wait (again!) for my period to start and then do it all again next month. It’s really not the end of the world, I just wish there wasn’t so much gosh darn WAITING in between all the steps!

    Whit, Thank you – that’s exactly what I need. I’m not devastated, because I know we’ll be ok and we’ll just try again. But I’m feeling disappointed. Like I need some ice cream and a sappy movie to cry in front of.

    Esperanza, You are absolutely right, and it does make me feel better! I am so PROUD of myself for ovulating (not that I had any control over it, but I’m taking the optimism where I can, mmmkay?) and I feel confident that we’ve crossed a big hurdle by passing that test. Now it’s just a matter of time.

    Courtney, I know! What the F! I totally thought maybe this was it. Well, it wasn’t. So maybe next time.

    Karen, I like the way you think, lady! Yes, this month we celebrate ovulation, and next month we celebrate our little plus sign. Sounds like a plan!

    Sue, Definitely a bummer. We’re down but not out though; next month those eggs better watch out! Thank you!

    Baby Hungry, Thank you for the support AND the award! You are very sweet to keep checking on me even though you’ve got a lot going on right now (wink wink!).

    Colleen, Thank you! Yep, we need a little extra love today. It’s exhausting wishing for something so much!

    iamstacey, Damn right! I see BFP’s in our future…

    Jen, That’s exactly right. I am allowing myself today to feel sad, and then it’s time to move on to bigger and better things. Like having a period. And making BABIES. :) Not much to do but keep on truckin’.

    Lisa, Thanks. We were hoping for that too. But you know what? In the end there’s not a bit of difference between a baby born in June and a baby born in July and even one born next December or January. It will happen. And it will be AWESOME.

    Nikol, Totally. THAT part I enjoy :) So I should thank my lucky stars for that, huh?

    LizardRuns, Righto. I AM ovulating, and I’m damn proud of that. So we’ll do it all again. As long as my period comes soon like it’s supposed to…

    Casey – The Baker Bee, Oh so true. Most people DON’T get preggo on the first try. Although it feels like we’ve been trying forever, this really was our first real “try”. So not getting pregnant this month actually makes me more normal. Who woulda thunk it.

    Sarah R, Thanks! We definitely will. We’re doing fine.

    Kara, I know, the thirst thing really perplexes me too! I am STILL downing water like I’ve been in the desert for days. Maybe it’s my body’s way of telling me I had to instill some good habits before it carries another person inside of it. Who knows. Glad I don’t have the gas, though!

    haya, We will! Hopefully SOON. Yes, once my period starts (which the nurse assures me should be today or tomorrow… but I’m not feeling very period-y…) we’ll take Clomid again and use the OPK again and the whole she-bang. Only this time I hope to end up with a positive pregnancy test.

    Low Fat Lady, Thanks. I plan on enjoying a few drinks and some sushi this week to “celebrate”. Oh, and something with goat cheese. Lovely goat cheese.

    Mary, Very true. My body was probably like, “Ohmigod what is this!? An EGG?!”. Ha. Maybe next month it will know what to do…

  19. Oh Kate! This is sooooo hard! I’m sorry it wasn’t your month. Believe me if I could share some of my fertility with you I would! As a matter of fact, you can have every bit of it that I have left!! If only it were that simple huh??

    At least you know, an you won’t be throwing money at any more tests this month…save it up for next month!!

  20. I’m sorry you’re not pregnant. I know this rollercoaster sucks and it is very emotional…I hope you get off this ride soon.

  21. I’m so sorry Kate! I really admire how you are handling it though.

  22. I’m so sorry to hear that. But keep faith…..next month might be the one :)

  23. I’m so sorry. I was waiting all day for the news! Just remember, you are ovulating and you WILL get pregnant one of these days. In the meantime, please try to enjoy the next few weeks…drink wine, eat sushi, go in a hot tub…:)

  24. So sorry…at least there is NEXT month!!

  25. Keep your spirits up! You are doing everything right, keep the faith and I KNOW you dreams will come true!
    xoxo
    Krissy

  26. I’m so sorry – I know how disappointing that is. I remember times when I was sure that I was pregnant only to find out I wasn’t. :( You’re definitely in my thoughts!

  27. Amy, Thank you. That’s quite an offer to give me your fertility! If only it were that easy, huh? Who knows, maybe someday I’ll be one of those people who gets pregnant at the drop of a hat. It all seems so random who gets lucky and who doesn’t.

    Jessica, Thank you. It IS very emotional. And it’s amazing how it can become all-consuming so quickly. Back in January I had no idea what we were in for.

    Sarah, Thanks. I think my go-to strategy for dealing with sadness is to detach a little bit. In this case, that has been helpful, as I’m pushing the disappointment aside to concentrate on the next steps and moving forward. I’m not really letting myself think about just how hopeful I was about this cycle… it’s on to the next one! No time for dwelling.

    Nabeela, That’s totally the angle I’m working right now. Gotta look to the future, right? Next month MIGHT be the next one, and that would be so exciting! Our chances get better every month.

    Alison, So true. I AM ovulating, and that is a huge step in the right direction. I plan to full enjoy the next two weeks (or however long it takes me to ovulate again) and indulge in all of those things that I won’t be able to when I’m pregnant. Sushi, here I come!

    APlusB, Thanks. That’s right, if my period EVER comes, we’ll start all over again. No big deal… having a lot of sex was NOT the worst thing in the world :)

    Kristin, Thank you! My spirits are definitely up. I’m doing ok. I just had to… readjust my plan. This whole struggle with infertility (Yuck. I hate that word.) has been a lesson in learning how to adjust my plan for the future.

    Tabitha, Thank you. I know I’m in good company here. I am not the first woman to ever have this happen, nor am I the last. I’ll be ok, just as everyone else is. Thank you for the support!

Leave a Reply

