She Says… WOW!

This blog started out as a way to share the exciting news when Benjamin and I got pregnant; I figured it would be a fun place for friends and family (and maybe a handful of others) to come and read about the undoubtedly crazy antics our family would have trying our best to live a happy, healthy, full life together. We had no idea, at that point, that we’d run into fertility issues long before that. Once we realized were were having trouble conceiving, the blog became a way for Benjamin and I to find some other people going through the same “Surprise! It’s not that easy to have a baby” experience. As I have mentioned before, I am completely obsessed with reading food blogs, and I saw a real opportunity for using the same avenue to find a supportive community to help me realize that it’s not THAT abnormal to struggle with infertility. So I got the husband on board and signed up for a WordPress account.

After attending the Healthy Living Summit, a conference for foodies in social media, I absolutely fell in love with the bloggers and the idea of making our blog bigger, stronger and better than it has been. Since then, I’ve come out of the anonymous abyss of the internet and started posting on others’ blogs, and have blog-hopped my way into so many other fabulous bloggers’ lives. Meghann, one of the fabulous bloggers who helped organize the Healthy Living Summit, just gave our blog the NICEST shout-out for “Follow Friday” (where you suggest new blogs for your readers to follow):

This Place is Now a Home – I may not be looking to start a family anytime soon, but Kate and her husband Benjamin are and they’re blogging about it . Kate and Benjamin are two health minded, active, well rounded individuals in their late 20s, in good health and have comfortable jobs that they love. Having a baby should be a walk in the park for these two, but unfortunately life does not always work out that way. After months of trying Kate discovered her ovaries were not ovulating on their own. Recently the couple said good bye to care free old fashion baby making and hello to fertility clinics, fancy drugs and hormone injecting foreplay. With a He Said/ She Said format this blog has a lot of real emotion to it that has you rooting for them every step of the way. Plus. I had the pleasure of meeting Kate in person at the Healthy Living Summit and I have to say she is just as awesome in real life as she is in the blog.

Since then, the number of hits this site has gotten has SKYROCKETED by several hundred. So, thank you Meghann! And… hello to all the new people! I hope you’ll come back and see us again soon :)

14 responses to “She Says… WOW!

  1. Hello! I found your blog on Meghann’s and I must say, you and your husband are in the exact same boat as me and my husband. We are one step prior to clomid I think. It’s so refreshing to read your blog- we aren’t really talking about our situation with other people, but I still need to talk about it, but with who! Luckily you are writing about it and I don’t feel as alone! Good luck with the clomid and I will definitely be a return reader! -Cathy

  2. I also found you from Meghann’s blog…you are very brave to do this so publicly. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Hi there,

    I also went thru what you are going thru 11 years ago, dont give up hope I know have two children 10 and 4 and would never give up. Best advise I can give you is dont get obsessed with it and dont forget the most import thing is each other and dont treat your intimate moments as baby making moment or it wont work relax and dont worry and it will happen.

  4. Hey there… Look forward to following your journey! :)

  5. Hi! I came here from Meghan’s blog as well. After going through all your archives, and knowing how much you want this to happen, I’m totally rooting for you!

  6. romancingthestone

    Hey there Kate,
    Enjoy the closeness you and Benjamin have. We are wishing you the greatest luck. I really enjoy reading your updates.
    M+T in Boston
    http:romancingthestone.wordpress.com

  7. It is so exciting when you get new followers and realize that people care about your story and what you have to say!

  8. It’s so great to have the IF community to guide us through this difficult journey. I’m so glad you’re sharing your story!

  9. I’m thankful to have found your blog. PCOS was a word my doc has been hinting at with me and reading about you and your husbands experiences I know will help me and many others!

    (Yeah the food blogs do totally rock too ;-) )

  10. I’m so glad you came out of the “blogging woodwork!” Your comments always make me smile. I can’t read/comment for you nearly as often as I would like to (internet connectivity isn’t Nairobi’s strong point, as I keep complaining about) but when I am able to read, your posts are wonderful. I was so happy to see Meghann’s shoutout!

  11. Cathy P, It’s so good to hear that there are other people out there going through the same thing. I know how it feels to not want to talk about it with friends and family. While on one hand it’s nothing to be ashamed of or embarrassed about, it’s still a strangely personal thing to share with people, and you may not want to ruin the surprise of “We’re having a baby!”.

    starstruk, Thank you! It’s funny, I never thought of it as brave… I haven’t even told my family and friends, so even though I am being very “public”, it almost feels like a secret. I’m happy to share, though, if it means that others in my situation will feel less scared by the babymaking process. Who knew it could be so complicated!

    Janette, Thank you so much for the encouragement. It’s so wonderful to hear from people who have been successful!

    Amy and Nabeela, Thank you! It is so awesome to know that there are so many people out there rooting for us.

    romancingthestone, I love keeping up with you too! And I really appreciate you taking the time to cheer Benjamin and I on.

    Amber, You’re not kidding! As I said, I never dreamed people would want to read about this stuff! I was totally just writing it for me. And maybe my family. But now that I see how many people are interested (even some people who are not looking to start a family anytime soon), I see there is a void that needs to be filled on the internet :) I am happy to throw myself in the ring.

    iamstacey, SO TRUE. There are so many strong women who have been dealing with this a lot longer than I have; I’m so happy to be able to lean on them and their experiences.

    Angie All The Way, Although I wouldn’t wish the PCOS diagnosis on anyone, it’s really not the kiss of death. There are SO many ways to treat the symptoms and work around them to have a baby naturally. Yay for modern science, eh?

    Anna, It’s so nice to know you read! I won’t blame you for being a lurker (at least while you’re in Nairobi!). Enjoy.

  12. Congrats on coming out of the woodwork and yea for new readers :D

    lowfatladywordpress.com

  13. Well I’ve been lurking for a short time but thought I’d say hello :O) I’m not currently trying to concieve, so I can’t say I understand how you feel dealing with infertility but I am always interested in other peoples stories and have a huge addiction to blogs of all sorts! Anyway, I wish you nothing but success with ttc in the upcoming months!

  14. Low Fat Lady, Thank you! I know, it’s very exciting. I always appreciate your comments!

    Mallory, Thank you for delurking :) I totally understand the fascination with other peoples’ blogs, even if you’re not in the same position. It’s like a window into someone else’s brain.

Leave a Reply

